We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail!!”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is our second visit to The Beverly Garland and our visit exceeded our expectations. We arrived at lunchtime and had a delicious meal at Tula's along with friendly and helpful service. Check-in was pleasant, friendly and fast!!! Our room was extremely comfortable and quite adequate. Easy in and out access throughout the property. The fitness room is perfectly outfitted with what is needed for a morning workout. If washing your clothes is a must, the laundry facility which is next to the fitness room is a convenient and bright spot. I loved the wallpaper!!! If Universal Studios is on your radar, The Beverly Garland is the place to stay. Conveniently located and shuttle service to and from during the day and night. Also, an easy drive to the famous Hollywood and Vine attractions.
We would return in a heartbeat!!!


  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmolk721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Los Angeles. We are delighted that you enjoyed Tula’s Restaurant as well as finding many of our amenities to your liking. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel and the Hollywood area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    1,048
    290
    100
    47
See reviews for
1,089
972
128
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This place might as well be a motel. It has the smallest rooms filled with cheap funiture. Their idea of in room entertainment are the 8 channels on the tv. The bathrooms have to be the worst part. Horrible size and the tubs would only drain once every ten mins. Oh and dont forget about the $15 a night parking fee. The only good thing i can say about this place is the sit in diner they have had the best food ive ever had from a hotel. If you ignore the warnings and still go here, at least enjoy the food.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamaishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience at our hotel. We understand you were not satisfied with the TV selection in our rooms. Your comments indicate we only have 8 channels but our lineup includes 25 channels, however, we agree that it still can use improvement. We are happy to let you know that we have recently signed a contract for new services to be provided to the hotel which will include an all new HD channel lineup of 58 channels along with a new in room movie service offered on top of the complimentary lineup. Installation is expected to be completed very soon. I apologize if the tub was draining slowly; but I am sure our engineering staff was happy to take care of it immediately. We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed your meals at Tula’s Restaurant…we agree…the food is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our family stayed here two nights on a visit to Universal Studios. I looked at the other nearby hotels, but this one was MUCH more affordable. Our government rate was $125. This was not a "luxury" hotel, but PERFECT for our needs. It was clean, quiet (we didn't have any problems with noise and we were next to the elevator on the first floor!), the grounds were nice, and the staff was very friendly. Our beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. This is NOT a brand new, corporate hotel...this is an older hotel but we did find the furnishing to be very contemporary. We had a patio off our room overlooking the pine trees -very nice.

We didn't use the pool, but noticed other people enjoying it. (not crowded) The hotel guests were diverse - business travelers, families, even saw some college students on Spring Break. In the back of the resort, there was a grassy area with a playground - wonderful activity for our kids after a long car trip. There were tennis courts on-site.

The best part of this hotel was its FREE shuttle to Universal Studios. It was a 5-minute drive each way and the ride was Door-to-Door. Couldn't get much easier. The hotel parking lot was very large and plentiful. Our rate allowed us to get free parking.

The area was nice and I didn't have any worries about security. We purchased dessert from the adjoining restaurant "Tula's", but would pass on this next time. Nothing special. However, the breakfast buffet was very good.

Would not hesitate to stay here again. A little oasis in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Universal Studios Hollywood. We are so happy to hear our hotel fit your family’s needs perfectly. We pride ourselves in providing an environment that is versatile to many patrons and glad to see some of our amenities were enjoyed by you and your family. We often hear people say we are an oasis in the middle of a concrete jungle and are happy you felt the same. Our grounds team does a great job in keeping the area tidy and fresh for our guest’s enjoyment. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed here for a few days so as that we could tour LA.

Rooms are pretty dated and a little run down, but otherwise comfortable despite being fairly small.

Despite all that, the service at both the hotel and the restaurant was fantastic, and housekeeping always did a great job. We had some issues with our bathroom, and they were fixed within 10 minutes from us calling the front desk.

The location itself has a fair bit of road noise, but you tune that out after a while staying there. It's a bit of a walk to the Metro station, but it is a great location for taxis, and I imagine would be easily accessible if you're driving yourself.

The worst part of our stay was that we were in a room directly next to the elevator - this wasn't a problem during the night, but during peak times (like the morning) it was frustrating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard, as it's quieter. Avoid any "X11" rooms, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for choosing The Beverly Garland for your trip to Los Angeles. We really appreciate your comments about our staff members. We are privileged to work with such great people. We take pride in our hotel and receiving comments from our guests is the best tool we have when making improvements. Hope to see you back in LA soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It was a really nice place to stay. Near to Hollywood walk of fame, Universal Studios, Graumann and Kodak ect.
Clean rooms, friendly staff and VERY HELPFULL !!! (esp Karla)
Super, super Tula restaurent !! Yummi!!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for staying with us. So happy to hear your comments about Karla, she is a fantastic team member who has recently been promoted to assistant guest service manager because of her great service skills. We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals at Tula’s, I know the chef will be happy to hear your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,511 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,596 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,214 - ₹ 25,775
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing