We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$231
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Westin.com
$227
View deal
Expedia.com
$231
View deal
Hotels.com$231
Priceline$231
travelup.com$260
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,270)
Filter reviews
3,444 results
Traveller rating
981
1,356
687
243
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
981
1,356
687
243
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown la blue tower large hotel valet parking bit dated lobby bar heart of downtown per night hollywood sign floor conference starwood garage starbucks robe dtla doorman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,444 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2022 via mobile

If you’re a film aficionado, you will probably appreciate the array of movies that were filmed in the Westin Bonaventure. However, if you are a guest, one might run into some service snags. This is a big hotel with a labyrinth like setting, so it is easy to get lost or disoriented. Also, parking is expensive and there is usually a wait for the valet. I did enjoy my stay and its proximity to the theater area, but I wouldn’t be anxious to stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank orange-u-tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

1
I waited for an hour and 20 minutes at the bar for a simple burger that never came. I left because I had a meeting to go to. In a previous stay my room was obviously not thoroughly cleaned, the wooden surfaces were sticky to the touch. This used to be such a top-notch hotel, not anymore. What an awful experience.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank eflores74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mario Castillo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

Dear eflores74

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

I sincerely apologize that the guest room was found unappealing and for the encounter related to food timing for deliver. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we wish for all aspects of your stay from the hospitality offered by our associates to the features and design of our building leave our guests feeling renewed and rejuvenated at the end of their stay. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent any future recurrence and we will certainly put a renewed focus on ensuring guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve and learn from your experience. We sincerely hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Los Angeles.

Thank you very much,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

Great stay! The hotel has been in lots of movies. It's very large but we easily got up and down to our room. The elevators are efficient and rooms are clean.

The one con is the valet parking. It's very hard to find. Then to drop off and then get your car, they are soooo slow! Even people that called ahead had to wait. The valet is very disorganized. They even couldn't find our keys one day! The frustrating part is that it's $49 a night for valet!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank boymomdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 May 2022 via mobile

I have stayed at both the Millennium Biltmore and the Westin Bonaventure on numerous occasions for business travel because my office building is nearby. Unfortunately there are no high-end hotel options in this part of downtown LA and these two hotels are no exception. The rooms at the Westin are old and outdated, but serviceable if you are only staying a night or two. It would be terrific to have the bed linens upgraded, as there are just sheets on the beds without a real comforter of any kind and the rooms are generally extremely cold even when the air conditioning is turned off. It would also be nice to have the hardware in the showers upgraded as the rain head showers have very little water pressure and most of the water does not flow to the showerhead when you pull the plug to switch from tub to shower. The other significant issue that I have with the Westin is the number of individuals that they permit to loiter just outside the entrance to the hotel and parking garage. It does not engender a safe feeling environment at all and the smell of marijuana is overwhelming and extremely unpleasant at all times of day at night. The Weston does, however, have a very nice valet parking area that is well lit and staffed and is much better than the parking garage at the Biltmore (which is cramped, dark, no staff anywhere, and feels quite unsafe). I think if the Westin made a few global changes as noted here, it would really improve the guest experience at this particular location.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SBbestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2022 via mobile

Review: Heinously under-staffed...total chaos from 1 person in front of hotel--there were always cars double and triple parked, angry people from waiting at loading area to only be told we had to go park our own car (for $49 per night.) Long, confused lines to get in parking structure' so-called "valet" parking, NO help with luggage, no luggage carts, no help at all. We had to hand carry our luggage to room--8-yr-old granddaughter carried more than her weight trying to help. Dozens of dogs everywhere...not 1 of them a service dog. Very long line of angry people at reception desk from our arrival at 3 pm-11 pm when we returned. Not given room we asked for, which was directly over outdoor party space. We could hear words of every loud song and screaming drunk people. I hit button on room phone asking for another room only to be told by someone not in the hotel saying she'd request that, but it would take 4-5 business days. WTF!?! Restaurant closes way too early. Area surrounded by homeless and pot smokers 24/7. Worst and most dangerous--there is NOBODY near pool for making sure all swimmers were hotel clients. You do need room keys, but when people didn't have 1, helpful, trusting persons inside opened gate for them. Most turned out to be homeless and/or scammers who approached us and everyone else trying to get cash. There were already 2 of their friends inside pool area at a back table who stayed a long time. I was very fearful for my 2 young grandkids being in this totally unprotected area. Hotel brags about its thousands of rooms, but honestly needs to hire 100s more staff members to take care of those paying high prices for absolutely NO service. Worse service than 2-star hotels.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cheryle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews