We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeling complete!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #56 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Remodeling complete!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I always try and stay here when I am in LA for work. The remodeling has really updated the lobby and it is all complete. Plenty of restaurants in and around the hotel. Rooms are always quite and comfortable. I usually stay two to three nights when I go and the staff is always friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: I like to ask for a view of the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    1,130
    586
    202
    125
See reviews for
372
643
214
1,117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Hotel is quite big. Nice check in service and someone phoned to check everything was okay once we got to our room. Room was cleaned and well maintained if a little small.
We were here on holiday and didn't find much to do locally which was a concern. Soon found the metro close by and were able to venture out for $1.50 each. Easy to get places but we would guess this is more a business place than tourists. Consierge told us where our tour would be picking us up which was incorrect and we ended up missing it. When we tried to sort it the lady seemed less than bothered.
We ate in the hotel most nights (as nothing particularly local) but found ourselves eating the same thing every day.
Hotel was nice, clean, modern etc but would recommend for business people not tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrieandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Westin has been recently renovated--nice! Rooms are small, because they are pie-shaped resulting from the five cylindrical towers that make up this property. The property is massive, making it somewhat impersonal. The vast majority of the staff was distant. A night club, Suede, is literally at the front entrance of the hotel. It gets VERY loud and I witnessed first-hand several intoxicated patrons exiting the club and entering the vast lobby. The BEST aspect of this hotel is the food. Buffets aren't generally my favorite, but this was the BEST buffet breakfast I've had in a hotel--ever. Daringly, I decided to try the lunch buffet. It, too, was excellent. Making the buffets even better was a food and beverage manager, Soraya N., who was very sweet and accommodating. Working VERY hard, and possessing the BEST personality of any employee I encountered was restaurant worker Moises. He is young, but has a great work ethic, is outgoing, and has a pleasant personality. Hopefully someone from the hotel will help mentor him for a future in the industry. On a sad note, ALL food outlets close in this hotel by 10:30, except for a brewery with limited food until 12. This is far too early in a hotel this large and in this location, with nothing close-by to walk to later in the evening. I mentioned to the above Soraya that perhaps room service could be ordered in the sprawling lobby bar area and at least eaten there, as opposed to being eaten in one's small pie-shaped room!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50states7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I arrived at midnight and was told my room wasn't ready. What? How can it not be ready when check-in time is 4 and I had a reservation in advance? I wasn't alone: at least a dozen others were waiting, some with young kids. I was told the wait would be about 30 mins. It was 1-1/2 hours. At 1:30 a.m. I was finally given a room. (They gave me breakfast to compensate.)

Stepping into the shower at that hour, I saw that the maid service had forgotten to leave shampoo. I called and requested it when I got out of the shower, but had to call again the next morning before it was delivered.

On the plus side: the architecture is interesting, and the hotel itself is like a small city. Monica at the front desk was nice, given the bad cards she had to play with. But I'd still never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Yes i know i booked the hotel via hotwire on a special rate but does that mean i am a second rate customer in this oh-so-historical four star hotel?

I called in 5 (yes that is FIVE) times to the hotel. The first time, customer service by the name of Maria put me on hold which took forever, so long that the song line went flat (no song anymore, am I still on hold???). Second time, she sounded annoyed and suddenly the line got cut off (REALLY?). The third and fourth time, nobody picked up my call, I had to call using a different number to get another person on the line, a Melanie or something.

This person informed me that my name is in their booking list but there is no way to know what room type nor bed type I will be getting during my upcoming stay. I just have to come on the date of the check in and see what's available on that day. And by the way, she said it in the most condescending nonchalant tone too.

REALLY? REALLY REALLY? Fantastic.

Makes me really think if this is a 4 star Starwood Hotel with such customer service. Seriously i hope the hotel is much more pleasant than the people who were handling my calls. This is just bad customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spie_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
698 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,265 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,167 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#91 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Property: The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,834 - ₹ 43,728
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing