We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Pictures are VERY Deceiving” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #102 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Pictures are VERY Deceiving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotwire so I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I looked at the photos and it seemed to be nice, until we got there.... The whole floor (6) smelled like smoke and urine. We went down to the front desk and they moved us to the ninth floor. It was better but not by much. The beds were comfortable and we OK for one night. I later read that this hotel has had many bed bug incidents. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Stay away if you want to enjoy your stay in LA.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katysawden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    993
    671
    351
    216
See reviews for
411
956
186
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I thought hard before writting this review, but at the end the result was the same: this hotel is not worth its price, or even a portion of it.
The lobby and other public areas are very nice. It is a historical building and those areas are well kept. But after you make it past them, it's a nightmare.
The hallways look like something out of the movie The Shining. There is duck tape holding down the carpet - and I checked with other guests in other floors, this is true on every floor.
It is very dirty. You see cobwebs in window sills and pieces of paper and trash on the floor.
The rooms are small and ill-equipped for the price charged. Two of the lamps in the room didn't work, and calls for repair went unaswered.
The air conditioning was very loud, clicking on and off all the time, making it hard to sleep.
This might be a minor thing, but for the price (over $225), I expected to have a sleep timer function in the TV.
The bathroom is very small and the bathtub had chunks of ... paint? porcelain? pealing off.
Tub was stained (dirty?) and there was mildew in many places. Closet doors didn't close properly and the carpet, again, very old, torn and dirty.
I had dinner here once and the food was mediocre at best. Breakfast was acceptable but very pricey.
Save yourself a bad stay and select another hotel. The Hilton and Westin are both within walking distance. Just come and see the lobby, if you want to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hacmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is very nice especially if you are looking for a slice of early 20th century upper-class living.

We were there for a three-day seminar. The facility were acceptable (meaning, this is not a modern hotel, but it worked for the small seminar). There is little for children to do at the hotel or in the immediate area, so there were mostly adults staying at the hotel.

Pros:
We stayed on the 9th floor. It was very quiet.
The room was large, but there is variability; when you reserve, ask for a larger room.
Service is generally excellent.
Bring your camera and take plenty of pictures of the hotel. It's beautiful.
Room service is fast and food is good.
There are good restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Elevators are fast.
There is a very nice gym, wet and dry sauna (not nude, unfortunately), and indoor pool.
Maid service is fast and good.

Cons:
The bathroom is small with few shelves and no vanity.
The area around the hotel, in general, is dirty, noisy, and there are many vagrants. Not the hotel's fault, I know...
Parking is expensive.
The service at the bar is glacially slow. Better to go to one in the neighborhood bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room on an upper floor not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed in this beautiful historic hotel for 3 nights while visiting LA. The gorgeous lobby and bar area gives you a feeling of nostalgia. The home of the Oscars in the 30's and beyond, this hotel has a special air about it. The gallery bar was a busy but fun place to end our evenings.
We arrived early in the AM fully prepared to leave our luggage and check in later in the afternoon. We were pleasantly surprised when they checked us in immediately and we were in our room by 10 am. Our room was very large with plenty of space for the 4 of us to spread out.
The beds were comfortable and our room location was very quiet.
The Concierge was extremely helpful in hiring a driver to take us around LA for the day as well as recommending restaurants in the area thatt were outstanding.
I would not hesitate to recommend staying at this hotel and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Bring good wax earplugs to blot out all the noise! I live in a very quiet remote part of the US so I'm just simply not used to all the noise ~ traffic, elevator bells, sirens, etc. These hotel rooms are not well insulated for sound and I could hear everything I mentioned. Lucky for me, I always travel with earplugs and this made the difference for me in my stay here. I slept very well.

I stayed at the Biltmore for a conference and heard others complain about their room quality and upkeep. Mine was on the 9th floor near the elevator and I got the impression that the higher the floor, the more recent the renovation, so I think I got lucky because I thought everything was very nice at the Biltmore.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#94 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,791 - ₹ 23,213
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing