We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in downtown Los Angeles”
Review of Kawada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kawada Hotel
Ranked #247 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The Kawada is located at the top of Hill Street at the corner of Hill and 2d. It is a block from the superior court and the county administration buildings, which makes it an ideal location if you have busness at either place. Two blocks the other way is the Ronald Reagan State Building, Two blocks up 2d is the Disney Concert Hall. It's a bit of a climb from the Kawada but worth a look. The rooms are reasonably priced and comfortable. The building was built in the early '20's and received a complete makeover in 1990. The old girl is starting to look like she could use a sprucing up, but the rooms are clean and the beds soft. When I started staying there in 1996, the hotel was nor near anything but fast food restaurants. Now there is a good pizza place and a good chinese retaurant both at 2d and Main, about three blocks away. A block down Hill Street is the Grand Central eating plaza which has several good stands with a convenience store on the Broadway side.

There is valet parking. I gave the place only four stars because it is beginning to need a facelift, but it is a really good place to stay. The staff is really nice and helpful. All of the rooms have refidgerators. Many of the rooms have microwaves, and some have kitchenettes. There are fancier places to stay not too far away, but the Kawada is the best value. Since it is right at the corner of 2d & Hill, there is some traffic noise. If you are a litght sleeper, make sure you get an interior room. If you are a heavy sleeper like me, it doesn't matter. Rooms near the fire escapes have two windows, in case that matters.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 155 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after arriving from a 13 hour flight. Well, what can I say. The area wasn't what you would call terrific. Did not feel safe. The actual hotel had one good point. The lobby was cosy and clean and staff were okay. When we got to our room, we just laughed. It was old fashioned and reminded me of a nursing home room. There was a particular smell of urine through the corridors and hot and stuffy. We knew it was only a couple of stars and was cheap, but definately made us realise you get what you pay for. I'm glad we only had 2 nights which was spent relaxing and getting over the flight, and waiting for our next part of the trip. Would not stay here again but it was an experience and we learnt from our mistake.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Philjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband, 10yr old daughter and I stayed here for 9 nights. It was a small room with a double bed and rollaway bed for our daughter. Adequate, clean, dated accomodation, with fridge and over the tub, bath-shower.
We found the location to be ideal for exploring in and around LA. However, the walls are thin and people coming and going at all hours, was a little off-putting. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging with any request we may have had. The small restaurant downstairs provides great meals, however isn't open after 4pm for dinner. There are more fast food and restaurants a block away should you need . I believe that the hotel is opening a Pho City restaurant very soon. There is only one computer in the lobby and I found that there were times that we were waiting for sometime to use it. No WiFi...only wired internet for a fee we were told. If you are requiring cheap, no-frills accomodation for a short stay, and don't have many expectations, this is a more than adequate stay. I wouldn't recommend it for families but great for singles and backpackers looking for basic, clean and central accomodation.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room at the end of the hall away from the elevator, as walls are paper thin and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girl_jo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed at the Kawada Hotel for 10 days, biggest mistake of my life! From the outside the hotel looks ok for the money, but as you get further in it get worse. Most of the staff are somewhat friendly. Now for the rooms, small and dirty, there is a dirty big A/c along side the bed, the fridge is about a 1960’s model, no tea or coffee making, however they do supply a ICE BUCKET AND 2 PLASTIC CUPS! That’s it. The TV is the size of a laptop screen and the ch drop out all the time. Only wifi in the lobby, no place to get a meal, there is a dodgy little bar around the corner but would not recommend, the café next door closes at 3pm, after 5pm you have to walk 4-7blocks for dinner. The fire alarms go off all night and the hotel porter walks the floors all night banging doors and talking on his phone! The location is great for subway, bus ect but that is the only plus this hotel has!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

It's surely not the best place you can find if you have the money, but it's cleary an average hotel if you want to stay in L.A. Downtown for only a couple of days.

It's really near the Grand Central Market and you can go around (Hollywood, Santa Monica, Venice Beach) through Metro buses and subway easily.

Sadly when we stay here it was during the E3 and everyone got the "High-speed" Internet connection so it was really slow to upload photos or download video from there during this special week. An alternative (for international traveler who's got a smartphone) is to buy a prepaid SIM card and get a Web daypass for 1,50$ (illimited access and it works better than the Kawada Internet connection).

The kitchenette was ok since it contains only a fridge and a sink.

I have to notice that one day before we leave the room wasn't clean by the maid... but we was able to get new towels from the reception.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bidou1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#52 of 355 in Los Angeles
742 reviews
Metro Plaza Hotel
#153 of 355 in Los Angeles
385 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#242 of 355 in Los Angeles
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,202 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#215 of 355 in Los Angeles
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawada Hotel

Address: 200 S Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3503
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: ₹ 8,459 - ₹ 19,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kawada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel situated in heart of downtown, close to government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kawada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing