We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in LA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #6 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place in LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Convenient location with pleasant views. Although downtown LA is not the liveliest place, the hotel is close to subway, train station, and has valet parking if you drive. Comfortable rooms, though no mini-bar for some reasons. Great service, good breakfast (by American standards), charming lounge with live music. WiFi in the lobby. May be there was a sale, but we had it for very reasonable price. We really enjoyed LA, so much to see! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think as usual, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,182
    1,054
    214
    60
    37
See reviews for
714
1,061
210
1,057
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you have a meeting near by its great but the rooms are dated and difficult to find electrical outlets. You have to search and crawl under furniture. Room service is terrible. There is not much around to eat at later in the evening so if you come in late like i did you have to rely on room service. Twice they could not get a simple cheeseburger correct. Fitness center is okay
Walls in rooms are paper thin so don't except a good night sleep. Connection to the internet was difficult and took a couple of calls.

Room Tip: go to high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank statestreet96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We appreciate your feedback, but are disappointed to hear about the quality of food being served to you. We have discussed this in detail with our Director of Food & Beverage, who is working closely with our chef to review the current menu, and to conduct additional training with our staff on food quality and presentation. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, and hope that we were able to personally handle this to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Without a doubt, this is the best hotel in downtown Los Angeles. I stay at the Omni for business, and have tried other hotels in the area, but none of them can compare to the Omni. My company has a corporate rate with the Omni, the Sales Manager, Hyacinth, introduced me to their loyalty program - Select Guest. I thought the benefits were too good to be true! But they have not failed to deliver since I started staying there mid last year. I love the free coffee or juice in the morning! And the free pressing, wow! Very excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Grand Avenue side or California Plaza. Sign up with Select Guest - it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecnal808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Beautiful hotel accommodations. Loyalty members can get a "speedy" check in upon arrival. Rooms are large with designer bathroom ( granite, separate bath/shower). There is a small starbucks on the third floor near the lounge/restaurant thats convenient. The lounge has live music at night and was quite packed for a wednesday night. Definitely plan on returning here when I have business in LA. However, The hotel's Valet parking is a bit pricey - $40

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcool54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

One thing for sure, I will never stay in this hotel!!!! The software is fairly ok, but the front desk staff is atrocious! What the management needs to do is to change the entire lethargic and completely ignorant staff; The manager, I think his name was Robi or Robert or Robie was enormously unpleasant and perfectly oblivious about my concerns in regards to AC. The night before, I came down to talk to FD. It was 2am and I couldn't sleep because the room was freezing. The front desk agent was texting on the phone for almost a minute before even noticing me. But that was nothing to Robi who was supermely rude, the next day! How do these people get a job??? Stay away from these people!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
On behalf of the Omni family, please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. Our guests, and providing them with an experience above and beyond their expectations, is the top priority for us, and we obviously failed to meet that standard. Your feedback has been shared with our Director of Rooms, and we have taken corrective measures to ensure that this does not happen again. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,805 - ₹ 36,685
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing