We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - OK rooms - great location for Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were only in LA for 2 nights, so this was a good little location for some quick Hollywood shopping, Universal Studios, Kodak Theatre (it's right behind it).
Staff were friendly and had maps and local movie theatre times. Breakfast was included - though we didn't eat much there it looked great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morsillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,167)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Orchid Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,274 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Look no further. This is the place in THE PLACE! Right in the heart of Hollywood. Everyone is friendly and nice. The room is clean. Even by my standards. Since I am a bit too picky, that means room is REALLY clean. I liked it overall. Will definitely stay there again. The only criticism is the outdated furniture, interior, and exterior. But I really do not care. For this price for this size for this location. It is just PERFECT! Do yourself a favor, go watch sunset at the Griffith.

Room Tip: Depends...For singles the rooms 110, 210 and 310 are nice. 110 has a sizeable patio but no view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadagain201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have just stayed here for 8 nights. The room sizes are huge. Full kitchen and everything! We had free wifi which was great! The location couldn't be better. Literally a 1 minute walk away from everything. The staff were lovely and they had a great taxi service with such a helpful driver named Harry! Would definatly go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and they haven't really updated anything in those years. Location is great and convenient and it's a good value, but could definitely use updating. Also, I had a room with a bedroom, living room which was very dark when I came in so when I left for the day that day I put out the do not disturb sign and left lights on so that it wasn't dark when I got home later that day. Someone was in my room. They didn't clean it at all, but someone came in as all the lights were turned off. I reported this to the front desk, but never heard anything from them about it. Just be careful with your stuff if you stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WildFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidSuites_Manager, Manager at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Hollywood and for being a repeat customer for 10 years.

First of all, please accept my apology for not getting in touch with you and meeting you while you were here. The front desk staff mentioned that you said that someone had been in your room and had turned off lights that you had left on during the day while you were out. I explained to the front desk that management had been inspecting rooms and that there was no reason for you to be concerned. I thought that had been relayed to you and did not realize that it was an issue. Again, it is my fault for not following up with you.

Please understand that if the 'Do Not Disturb' sign is on the outside of the hotel room door, then hotel staff knows that the occupants do not want to be disturbed and respect that request. However, even if a room is not to be made up, our hotel staff is instructed to nonetheless make entry to each room every day to ensure that everything is okay. Housekeepers begin their rounds at 10:00 A.M. and will initially bypass rooms with "Do Not Disturb" signs on the doors, but at the end of their rounds they are required to return to those rooms and knock on the door to see if the guest needs service. Unless, prior arrangements have been made with management, guests must allow hotel staff access to the room at that time – even if out. All of our rooms have safes for those concerned about valuables. Furthermore, all of our employees are trustworthy, hard-working and dedicated, many of whom have been on our staff for many years.

As far as the hotel being “outdated” and you not being able to see improvements, many are hard to spot (new copper plumbing, new heaters, many new refrigerators and stoves, new heat reflecting insolating roof, upgraded elevator, new double glazed windows, etc.) but many improvements are quite easy to see such as the large Flat screen TVs and the new chests they sit on. Dozens of new refrigerators and stoves, new hallyway furniture and plants, as well as new coffee and end tables and more. The linoleum bathroom and kitchen floors have been replaced with porcelain tile with just a few rooms left to go. We have newly refurbished garden furniture, a new breakfast area, a new patio with upgraded landscaping at the front entrance and enhanced lobby areas.

Last of all, regarding security, our front desk is 24 hours and they monitor security cameras which are located throughout the property. All entrances are locked, including the parking garage and you must have a key to enter. Furthermore, we are in a great location adjacent to the Kodak Theater and the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel which are part of the Hollywood & Highland Center which all have sophisticated security throughout and surrounding their property along with 24 hour security guards who have a clear view of the Hollywood Orchid Suites. This may be a bit much, however we have aslways taken the safety sand comfort of our guests seriously.

Again, we are sorry to read about your less than perfect experience while you were here. If you would like to discuss it further, please feel free to contact me any time.

Sandra Hausaman, manager@orchidsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011 and it was wonderful. It was in an ideal location just behind the Kodak Theatre, and within walking distance of everything we needed. I liked the fact that they provided free underground parking in a secure garage. Like most others have said the decor is a little outdated, but for the price and size we did not mind at all. This was much better than being cramped in a small hotel room. We are actually planning on heading back to LA in October and stay here again. The front desk was wonderful for our trip, and they provided excellent advice on things to do in the area outside the normal activities. Would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Hollywood.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkgunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,750 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,150 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 353 in Los Angeles
432 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#68 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: ₹ 12,343 - ₹ 16,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing