We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
235
651
463
151
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
651
463
151
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels in n out burger great location chinese theatre universal studios sunset boulevard walking distance continental breakfast per day parking garage dolby theatre metro station coffee maker ihop fame hollywood starbucks
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

There are a few great things about Days Inn hotel. First of all, it's in very good location if you want to stay right in the centre of Hollywood. Secondly, the bed was amazingly comfy. Third and the most important reason (food ;), In'n'out burger right beside it and IHOP across the street and UBER to Universal Studios was just over 10$ which was good as well. Everything else was so-so. The smell in the corridors was not great, staff was nice but not overly (just polite) and the swimming pool itself and the area around it was neglected. I have to say that despite all those things we enjoyed our stay in Los Angeles but if I was ever to go back to LA I'm sorry to say that but I wouldn't stay in Days Inn again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Kamykowata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, we are happy to know our location was ideal for your travels and will make sure we address your concerns to ensure you and our future guests leave happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Hollywood accommodation is expensive, no getting around that. So we weren't expecting much when we opted for a budget option at around $200 a night. Our travel agent choose the Days Inn for us. Things actually started pretty well. The parking was safe and a reasonable price for that part of town, and when the gentleman on reception read on the booking from our agent it was the first night of our honeymoon he made the lovely gesture of offering to upgrade us to a pool side king suite. He was booked out that night but would arrange to move us for our next two nights. That was thoughtful... and something we looked forward too as the basic queen room we had was rather small and oddly located on a corridor corner with windows looking out on to the hallway.

Old and in need of refurbishment was our first impression of the hotel, and it was rather noisy with super thin walls and traffic around. The next morning we headed out to explore and checked our bags out of our old room as the new one wouldn't be ready until the afternoon. When we returned the very grumpy lady on the desk didn't seem to have got the note from the nice man the night before. She didn't seem to believe us when we said we'd been offered an upgrade. The poolside king suite did not appear. Our room was a king bed but felt even smaller than the previous night, older, and worst of all located in a ground floor corner with a whole battery of air-con units bolted to the exterior wall of our room. The noise was deafening. This put us in the awkward situation where our free 'upgrade' was, in fact, worse than where we'd been but we didn't want to seem ungrateful for the 'favour'.

Fortunately, the new girl on reception was sympathetic to our cause and moved us when we expressed concern at the noise to a poolside king suite. At last we had a quiet, clean and well-proportioned room, though it too was showing its age. None the less we had a comfortable 2nd and 3rd night and again, it was one of the cheaper places in the area so we were not expecting luxury, just comfort.

Breakfast had a reasonable selection of fare, and for an included continental breakfast I thought it very fair. However as this was our first experience with American breakfast we were unsure what the norms were. Now having spent nearly a month in the US we have learnt this sugar sugar sugar and plastic plastic plastic is what is considered normal, horrible though it may be to foreigners. We knew the coffee would be horrendous, and it was, but what I can't get over is the disposable nature of EVERYTHING used. No teacup, fork, plate or bowl was real. All made of or wrapped in plastic and all single use. Even a cheap hotel in Australia would be environmentally fined and crucified by the guests for such wastage and tackiness. I'd like to challenge the Days Inn chain to think about buying a commercial dishwasher, surely it must be cheaper in the long run! The same can be said for the coffee facilities in the rooms, so much waste. Mind you I'll be copy and pasting that concern on many a hotel page, it just seems ingrained here in the US and is no particular fault of this establishment.

Overall, you could do a lot worse I'm sure, and if you get a good price it is clean and serviceable in walking distance to the main Hollywood drag and convenient to Universal. I'd be trying somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Poolside are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zalgariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon S, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your needs and will make sure our management hears your suggestions for our grounds and are glad our staff did everything to accommodate your needs; we hope to get a chance to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We enjoyed the hotel. It is spacious and nice. What i disagree with is with the payment to use the parking. The hotel itself is expensive, and that is why i consider that those $10 extra per day does not have to be charged.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank errolv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall visit with us and hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2018

I had a desire to stay there, have a surgical procure and feel safe enough to do so. I also needed to find a clean place to stay in Los Angeles with my two service pets. Napoleon , Anna, Octavia and the staff made me feel accommodated and welcomed. I was able to successfully execute the plan. They also gave me s room with a tub and s chemical scent free accommodation. I would stay there again. Very happy with the kindness and the service. Vicki

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 829vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for the five star review after your visit to our hotel, we are excited to hear our friendly staff did everything to accommodate your needs; we look forward to serving you again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews