We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanborn Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvard House Motel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
43
21
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
21
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenoff street parkingsilver lakewell equipped kitchenprivate bathroomshort walkother guestshollywood areahostssuiteaccommodationstoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2011

great location and near to public transport and good restaurants. Privat parking and clean rooms and kitchen. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviderebellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

A great place to stay, in Silverlake which is a fab area and one of the only areas of LA where you can walk as opposed to drive. Lots of cool local bars and shosps. Jaime and Gary who own the place are really friendly and welcoming. The use of a kitchen (shared with other room) is also good.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I just stayed in tylers place two nights while visiting a friend on the way to Hawaii. The host Donald was very helpful and the apartment is BEAUTIFUL, modern decor, spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. I can't recommend it highly enough. Silver lake and Sunset junction are lovely neighbourhoods walking distance to bars, cafes, restaurants etc. I had a great stay and would come back here anytime!

Room Tip: This would be a great spot for a romantic break
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elladginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Very comfortable, clean room with everything we needed. Great location. The hosts, Gary and Jaime, are very personable and helpful. It never before occurred to me to look for a B & B, or rather, a guest house (no breakfast is served here) in Los Angeles, but I did, and what a find! Very pleasant atmosphere and I look forward to our next trip to LA.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My partner and I spent eight days at Tyler's Place, a small apartment a short distance from Sanborn Guest House. We were both extremely pleased with both the lodging itself as well as the kindness and helpfulness of our host Donald. I could not believe I nearly spent three to four times as much for some snooty hotel in West Hollywood.
First of all, the location was excellent, s block from Santa Monica Blvd. and two blocks from West Sunset in the Silverlake area of L.A. There was easy access (as far as L.A. traffic will permit) to many area attractions. The lodging is one apartment is a building of six (one occupied by Donald and the others by long-term tenants.). The apartment was small but very nice, clean nice hardwood floors, a kitchen with fridge, icemaker, coffeemaker, toaster, pots, pans, utensils, even bottled water in the fridge and more in the cupboard. One could easily shop at the nearby Von's and eat as many meals as one cared to in the apartment. The bed was comfortable with nice sheets, a comforter, large ceiling fan, and a big-screen tv on the wall in front (with basic cable). There is also WiFi (and pretty good speed too) if you bring your laptop. There were two closets (one large, one regular size), extra towels, sheets, pillows, and an iron and ironing board (there is an laundry room a few steps from the door with a key provided by Donald). Donald clearly went out of his way to make this a comfortable little place. It is perfect for two people, but could accommodate three or four with the roll-out bed. If you're used to the quiet of the countryside, you may have an issue with the morning traffic on Myra Ave. However, I generally am sensitive to noise when I'm trying to sleep and I did not find it to be a problem.
The best part was Donald himself - friendly, helpful, and eager to make you feel at home, give directions, suggest things to do. I am much more inclined to look for lodging at smaller, more personable places rather than impersonal hotels and this was perfect. I suppose it depends on what you're used to, and what I'm used to is a rather drab one-bedroom apartment that is not as nice as this one.
You'd pay far more for less comfort and service at a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkf0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews