We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for young travellers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect for young travellers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

If this is your first time in LA, you and your friends don't know anyone, or you are travelling alone, this is PERFECT. The hostel has activities every night, they take you out clubbing and everyone is super friendly! The only downside for us is that we booked a tour with them to go to disneyland, and although the tour bus arrived an hour late, we still had a blast. (if you book a tour, make sure you nag them to confirm and double check it.) Oh and also sometimes it does get a little hard to sleep at night due to the traffic noise, but i mean its hollywood.

Me and my friend booked a private room. Its definitely average but at least you get your own bathroom and dont need to share! and seeing as we are girls, this is very important :)

They provide 'breakfast' daily too but this is merely just toast and cereal, nothing too fancy. If you're looking for a budget stay and nothing too dodgey, this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    158
    81
    31
    26
See reviews for
9
76
94
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is my favourite hostel ever, its such great craic theyre all gas! Come here lad if your in to partying, free food and a laugh awh yeah!!

Stayed here only recently, the staff went out of their way to help us. the receptionist Mirjanna I think thats her name helped us with our tour and also made a great effort to choose one to suit us.

location location location thats what they say and its true we were 5 mins away from the metro, which saved us a small fortune in taxi fares !!!

Oh yeah and there were two supermarkets with great bargains and if you like a drink (or two) you wont be disapointed!

OMG the entertainment was extremley entertaining. al and paddy would put comanders in the marines to shame the way they organise partys they know the best spots keep an eye out for celebs!....

if going outs not your thing (loser) theres ping pong and fooze ball and the movie room zzzzzzz but watever suits..

They had breckky too was great and FREE being the key word, my god it changed every day too and your greeted by the friendliest girl ever she made my day every morning Petra. how was she so upbeat in the morning ill never know. Hiya if your readling this ill be back!! oh yeah free pizza too nice one!!

Amandas grand she was so smilely constantly she recomended shopping in Urban outfitters her favourite shop i loved it thanks,:)

anyways so laim writing a review but you gotta go was seriously great i cant wait to get back there!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Pick the room with the kitchen only a dew dollars ect and it defo comes in handy!! I wuda been lost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLass284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The location isn't too bad, it's about 15-20 minutes walk to the 'main' bit of boulevard. The room we had (6 bed dorm) was quite nice and didn't have any complaints, we had our own kitchen area which was clean, as was the bathroom, towels were included which is always a bonus with hostels. There were quite a few activities arranged although these were so poorly arranged that we had to see the funny side. We stayed here on the 4th of July and signed up to go and watch the fireworks from the observatory; instead we ended up driving round the Hollywood Hills on/off for about two hours which had everyone in hysterics, it was that badly organized we had to laugh. The woman on reception was a little annoying as we had just arrived off a 13 hour flight and just wanted to check in and get to our room but because there were one or two people asking questions about trips and activities she asked us to go and sit outside and she would be with us in 5 minutes - that turned into more like 30. But all in all was an okay place to stay and the free breakfast was decent too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Our experience at the banana bungalow was great.
The staff were very friendly and assisted us with all of our tourist activities that we requested information on.
Great location right next to the start of the Hollywood walk of fame.
There were many activities organized by the staff including social party nights.
This is a cheaply priced accommodation with adequate amenities and accommodation.
Noah and Al were very friendly staff members which made us feel welcomed and involved.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpan1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Nice clean big room, however the noise level is pretty bad at times, the night i arrived it was BBQ/Live Band/Karaoke night and being jet lagged all i wanted to do was sleep however the music kept going right up until midnight and there was no way of sleeping with the amount of noise being made.
Staff here are friendly and willing to help answer any of your questions.
I did have a few issues with the Wifi during my stay where most mornings it would work between 12am-8am and then sometimes it would randomly not work throughout the day, a few other guest said they were having the same issue.

Location of this hostel is so good, your only a 25min walk or 1 metro station away from the heart of Hollywood blvd.
Would recommend staying here as it is nice and clean and good location and prices aren't too bad.

Room Tip: i went with the premium private room which had a bunk bed plus a double bed, its own kitchen and bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmonty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#9 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 78 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#5 of 78 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,369 - ₹ 7,039
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing