We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay when you are out and about”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollywood City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood City Inn
Ranked #110 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay when you are out and about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. We checked in around 7.30pm on a Saturday night. I was worried about walking around at night, the receptionist assured us it was ok and it was.
I was so excited to find the cheap supermarkets one street away and we stocked up on groceries!
The location of this hotel was pretty great. In hindsight I would have stayed a bit closer to Hollywood Strip as I prefer to walk, but the Metro was great. Once we discovered the busses too, they were so easy to get around on.
The hotel itself was clean but basic. The room was quite large. Two double beds, a bathroom with bath, and a little lounge area. Though there was no iron. (Or fridge! but as I continued my travels across the US none of the hotels had a fridge - must be an Australian thing!)
Do not book a tour wioth the reception staff as they take a HUUUUGE cut! Walk down to the strip and buy tours off the street for half the price.
in all, if you do not plan to spend much time at the hotel, this will be fine. The area is safe and convenient, there is Starbucks, Ross, McDonalds, Dennys, and louds of otherrestuarants within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Darwin_NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    291
    202
    43
    36
See reviews for
157
247
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Don't be afraid to learn the metro early if you want to save money. LA cabs are PRICEY if you hit traffic (and you will!)
Half a block from the Hollywood/Western metro stop on the red line. Heading to North Hollywood is Hollywood/Vine (start of the walk of fame) and Hollywood/Highland (which is right beside the Kodak theatre and a dozen other attractions on that block)

Room was cozy with 2 double beds but we were never in the room for long so it didn't matter.
Bathroom was clean.
Complimentary breakfast selection was a doughnut, banana, OJ, Milk and coffee.

Would likely stay again

Room Tip: Some rooms are motel style with outside access which I think would be noisier than where we stayed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maple-leafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I'm not very picky when it comes to hotels and I don't really need much, just a clean room and non-shady neighbors. I guess I got that with this hotel. But there were a lot of little annoying things that bothered me. For the price I paid it's no big deal though. So here's what they could improve on:
1. fruit fly on my toothbrush
2. pervasive smell of soap in the room
3. sawing noise very early in the morning (they were doing some renovations.)
4. mattress with huge brown stain propped against the balcony overlooking pool for a couple days (with a bunch of other furniture moved out of the rooms they were renovating)
5. no tables to sit down at breakfast, except for 1 outside by the pool.

Other than that, OK!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheldink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Overall was good to stay here when in Hollywood for this price. the best thing was the free morning doughnuts WOW so tasty! also free newspaper, and is 2 min walk from the underground. We walked into Hollywood from here, but quite a long walk. The neighbourhood is a little rough looking, and I did not like the fact that there was no safety deposit box available, so we kept our valuables locked in our cases. Also I do not usually react to products, but the shampoo supplied actually burnt into my scalp! So definitely avoid using it!
If I ever come back to Los Angeles, I would try to stay in the Santa Monica area, and not the Hollywood area.

Room Tip: There is free wifi at this hotel - just ask at reception for the code.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibu-jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent three nits at this motel

The room is good for it price. Its clean and the bathroom is tidy too. However the airconditon have a little smell as it has been used for quite a while. But u could open the window for a refresh

The service is good enough for a motel . 24 hr front desk so u could check out in early morning to catch flight. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Motel is located in Tai Town. If u are girls try to get back early. To say that am not feeling safe in anywhere of L.A. There seems someone knicking the door at 4am. We think it might be a mistake of sb. finding their room.

Breakfast are self-serving coffee and donuts/ crossiant. As well as cereals.

Overall. If u re on a budget u can totally go there

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#131 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#154 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#102 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#163 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#70 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood City Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood City Inn

Property: Hollywood City Inn
Address: 1615 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4807
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,327 - ₹ 14,023
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood City Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood City Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing