We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Los Angeles”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
dining
walk of fame
Hollywood Walk Of Fame is right at the corner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lorna B
1 review
“Los Angeles”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Location is fantastic and Duke is a welcoming host. Booking was easy and Duke answered any questions we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for being a wonderful guest Lorna. I would love to host you and your family again anytime soon. Please keep in touch.
All the very best to you and your lovely family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jusjan
illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION!”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location was perfect! 3 blocks from the Chinese Theater in one direction and 2 blocks the other way from In & Out Burger. 15 drive to Universal Studios and Warner Bros studio tour and 40 min to Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier. Its a very quiet building with great security. Parking is under the building and a remote is needed to enter the garage, then a key is needed to get to the elevators and then a key is needed to get on the elevator. We felt very safe in the building. The pool was great but the water was a little cold (it was only 72 degrees outside but my kids insisted on going in). Didn't use the gym or the laundry but both looked nice. Duke was incredible. He showed us everything around the apartment, gave us suggestions of sights to see and quickly responded to my text about time to allow for LA traffic. Overall, a great place to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thanks again so much for staying at my place. You are such so considerate and wonderful. Thanks for taking care my place during your stay and left it very clean and neat. Please keep in touch and hope to have you all again anytime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauradino...
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family with two kids, ages 4 and 7 years old. The apartment was nice and clean, had everything we need. The location was great, near the walk of fame and in the heart of Hollywood. There are lots of shops, reataurants and supermarkets in walk distance. The owners Duke and Dennis were very friendly and helpful people. I wolud come back again for sure!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Wonderful guests! Laura and her family were very considerate, respectful and friendly - the communication was excellent. They took a wonderful care of our place during their stay and left it very clean, neat and in great shape on their departure - we would host them again anytime and have no hesitate to recommend them to all other hosts! Thanks so much Laura - please come back soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggis_Su...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A real mixed bag for us but sadly we felt that the previous reviews and photos presented a somewhat misleading view of the apartment and location and were certainly economical with the negative aspects. I note that there has been a recent review that provides a far more factual and accurate account.

Positives
The booking and subsequent communication was quick and excellent. I'd had a very disappointing experience with VRBO so the level of friendly communication with Duke was reassuring.

Dennis, the son of the owner, was terrific. We had to contact Dennis to see if an early check in would be possible as my son was ill. He was outstanding in helping prepare the apartment and staying in contact with us. This was hugely appreciated by us.

We were able to access Netflix and a couple of other online TV options so there were plenty of viewing options.

The beds were exceptionally comfortable.

Very close to Hollywood Boulevard and the "must see" attractions. In n Out burger a very short stroll away.

Negatives
This is not a particularly nice area. Dog mess all over the grass outside the apartment and all around the streets. The streets around are dimly lit and dirty.

Sadly there are many homeless people all around, especially on Hollywood Boulevard. We saw several people completely losing it on the walk to, and on, Hollywood Boulevard - clearly drug or alcohol affected.

I'm well travelled and have experience of living and working in many major cities. I'm also used to less desirable areas. However, having my kids with me I didn't feel too comfortable walking around after dark. At best I'd say the area is sketchy. My children described this as the worst part of our three week holiday in the US.

Weed was smoked within the building and very noticeable. Dennis had forewarned us about this and the level of homelessness.

There is practically zero insulation within the apartment block. Therefore every footstep above, below and around is clearly heard. Plenty of dogs barking. The surrounding apartment blocks are also incredibly close so noise, music and conversations are constant and clear. To be fair, I initially feared that we would never be able to sleep such was the constant noise but it seemed to cease around 11.30pm so this didn't affect our sleep.

The beautiful and new leather couch in the photos is now exceptionally worn and frayed and badly cracked with the insides now hanging out. Disappointing.

The kitchen and bathroom areas and fittings are dated.

All in all I'm afraid we were disappointed with the area and the apartment. Perhaps I'm being a little harsh as the price was not excessive. My comments above though are accurate and factual. It would have been better to have known these before making my booking as we may not have made the booking or would at least have been better prepared.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Your review was actually reflected upon our honor. It was sad to hear that you did not have the experience that you were expecting during your stay in Hollywood. However THESE COMPLAINTS ARE OUT OF OUR CONTROL AND SOME ARE FALSE. WE WOULD LIKE TO GO THROUGH THE POINTS YOU HAVE MENTIONED SO THAT WE CAN HAVE A BETTER UNDERSTANDING BETWEEN ONE ANOTHER.

1. THIS IS NOT A PARTICULARLY NICE AREA: with the most visited attractions area in the world - situated in the heart of Hollywood where the Oscars telecast live - Hollywood & Highland - the world famous 5 stars Roosevelt Hotel - Hollywood Walk of Fame, Mann's Chinese Theatre and the Dolby Theatre etc..what kind of area did you expect before booking your accommodation?
2. DOG MESS ALL OVER THE GRASS OUTSIDE THE APARTMENT AND ALL AROUND THE STREETS: You may see that you might be exaggerating a bit too much!
3. SADLY THERE ARE MANY HOMELESS PEOPLE ALL AROUND, ESPECIALLY ON HOLLYWOOD BOULEVARD: What could we do about homeless people on Hollywood Blvd.- 2 blocks away from our building? You should write to the City of Los Angeles to complaint about the homeless people all over Los Angeles – especially, on Hollywood Blvd – Walk Of Fame. This is none of our business,
4. THE STREETS AROUND ARE DIMLY LIT AND DIRTY: There are very beautiful high pine trees on this street which does cause the streets to be a bit dimmer. It’s precious – more than 200 years old. It couldn’t be found any such pine trees in the entire City of Los Angeles. You should enjoy and appreciate it’s still alive and be with us. Your complaint about this is really outrageous and there is nothing that we can do. However, the city scheduled for “street cleaning” every Monday.
5. WE SAW SEVERAL PEOPLE COMPLETELY LOSING IT ON THE WALK TO, AND ON HOLLYWOOD BOULEVARD - CLEARLY DRUG OR ALCOHOL AFFECTED: It doesn’t make sense for this complaint since Hollywood Blvd is 2 blocks away from our complex building – This is because of that is how Hollywood all about. Actually, that’s the reality of Hollywood – you should enjoy it instead of complaining.
6. HAVING MY KIDS WITH ME I DIDN'T FEEL TOO COMFORTABLE WALKING AROUND AFTER DARK: The area however is extremely safe due to the fact that you are only 2 blocks from the Walk of Fame – the most visited place in the world (47 million visitors in 2016). We told you during the check in that there is no need to worry since there are cops constantly patrolling the area 24/7
7. MY CHILDREN DESCRIBED THIS AS THE WORST PART OF OUR THREE WEEK HOLIDAY IN THE US: You should have booked somewhere a bit further away from the main strip like this – the most attractive and expensive location in the world.
8. WEED WAS SMOKED WITHIN THE BUILDING AND VERY NOTICEABLE: Smoking is prohibited within this building – whoever violates and get caught will be fined and evicted. We’ve never received any complaints about it. It might happened but it’s rarely.
9. THE SURROUNDING APARTMENT BLOCKS ARE ALSO INCREDIBLY CLOSE SO NOISE, MUSIC AND CONVERSATIONS ARE CONSTANT AND CLEAR: There is some level of noises due to the close proximity to the main strip. But the reality is not as you exaggerated. If you wanted something quieter, you should have booked somewhere further – 15 or 20 miles away from this area.


We've never received complaints about the area, homeless people, dirty street, dogs, noises etc. before, so friends usually didn't have a problem with it at all. Again, we are so very sorry it wasn't what you expected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangrego...
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dr Phil show stop”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Owners very nice and went above and beyond. The place is not the one in the photo. No deck or BBQ grill. Never saw a washer and dryer. Homeless people sleep in the front entrance to the condo. The main areas of the condo appeared clean but furniture was old, the vinyl couch had many cracks, the closet and drawers were dirty so we did not unpack. Bathroom faucet was hard to use due to age and lime/rust. Location was great for walk of fame, In and Out burger was near and we had a good time. The lyft vehicles were usually in the area.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
There are many untruths/inconsistencies/fakes with this review:
1. The place is not the one on the photo: NO SIR! IT'S EXACTLY THE SAME PHOTOS. We never changed. Please do not LIE.
2. NO Deck or BBQ grill: UNTRUE - BBQ pit and outdoor area which was shown to you during the check in - Didn't you remember? what was WRONG with you?
3. Washer and dryer: UNTRUE again – there is a big laundry room with 10 washers and 10 dryers on the 2nd floor that was shown to you during check in. Didn't you remember? Why did you make all these up?
Over all, only 2 nights stayed here but your review was not actually reflected upon our honor. We really didn't appreciate it and would never host you ever again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing