We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, authentic Italian”
Review of Ca' Del Sole

Ca' Del Sole
Reserve with OpenTable
Ca' Del Sole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 11,985 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lankershim Blvd.
Transit: MTA- Red line
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having lived in Italy, we tend to be fairly critical of Italian restaurants, and this was our first visit to Ca Del Sole – in a family group of 6 adults and 3 children.
On a busy Christmas Eve, the ambience was warm, comfortable and welcoming.
We each chose a different dish, and were totally delighted by the various wonderful flavours. The extensive wine list caters to a wide range of tastes and pockets, and we really enjoyed a 2012 Montepulciano red ($70).
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, looking after special requests from the young ones, without any fuss. We'll be returning!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

I’ve been going to this outstanding restaurant for years. It remains one of my favorites. A charming Italian restaurant designed to look like an Italian inn, it features an outstanding menu a wine list featuring a choice of 700! The service is outstanding—enabling people from nearby Universal Studios to enjoy an outstanding lunch and get back to work on time. I had a wonderful mezzaluna with pumpkin and squash filling. One of my perennial favorites is capellini ala cecca.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank michaelc569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

It's a treat to dine at an Italian restaurant like Ca' del Sole. The food is exquisite, the presentation is spot on, and the wine list is comprehensive, especially as you might imagine, with Italian wines. My only complaint for the evening was that when we were first seated, the waiter was slow to find us and take our drinks order. Following that, everything was perfect. I had the lamb chops, preceded by a Caesar salad, and everything was great. Other people at the table had carpaccio and various pastas. Come here for that really special evening.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Finally had a dinner meeting here after all these years and was seated outside on the patio. It was a bit chilly so had to request a heater a few times and then it finally arrived. Other than that the staff seemed attentive and knowledgeable of their menu. I ordered the house salad which was as expected and nothing to note. The entree was the Bronzino which was fresh however a bit over sauced with a white wine base on a bed of artichokes.

The meal was flavorful however not overwhelming. The location seems to be the base for many a power meal given the proximity to the studios.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank MooshLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

A family get together celebrating 2 birthdays. We were 22 people. We had a private room with a outdoor patio area for a open bar and the serving of appetizers. A choice menu of pasta dishes, or veal or fish. Salad and dessert was also served. Every dish was fantastic. The service was beyond great. A very impressive event.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ca' Del Sole also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Ca' Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing