We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #126 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

After a lot of research on the internet my Son & I stayed here for 1 week at the beginning of our holiday then travelled to other parts of the US, then went back for another 4 nights towards the end of our holiday (Lisa had left a personal note, a bottle of drink & lollies to welcome us back- how sweet). This place is fantastic, the staff are amazing & very good looking (another bonus), the view is spectacular (I was in room 504), free snacks daily and a lovely free continental breakfast daily around the pool. Next time I'm in town I will stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay wonderful. I wish I was there right now!
Vronne from Australia.

Room Tip: Room 504 is right at the top with a fantastic view. They shuttle you up & down for free if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vronne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    94
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
106
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Hello Everyone! We “were just there this past weekend. I must say that I had the most memorable and amazing service ever. I am completely impressed will ALL the staff. There was not one person that did not go over and beyond for my family and I. It was a great experience and we will be back. Thank you so much for making our trip special !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallett Cove, SA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We did a fair bit of research before deciding on the Hollywood Hills hotel. We stayed 3 nights while we did a quick stopover on our way back to Australia from Florida.

The good: Fantastic service. Nick, the guy at the desk, was truly a font of knowledge on the local attractions. Helped me with booking a day tour that turned out to be brilliant. He explained how the hotel worked, that we could get free mini-bar snacks and soft drinks and about the included buffet breakfast in the morning.

All the other staff were also friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the mornings is awesome and sets you up for the day.

The average: The rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. There was mould in our bathroom and the room was pretty smelly, stuffy and hot. The small air conditioner didn't really do much to help so we ended up having to keep all the doors open which isn't ideal.

Some new carpets and a split-system airconditioner would help.

That said, the room was ample in size for our family of 4. There is a separate room for the master bedroom and a pull out sofa. As our kids are older we bought an air bed and sheets at the local Target for our son to sleep on (too old to share with sis :0)).

The pool area was teriffic and the views of the city from the balcony superb.

There is a shuttle bus up and down from the sister hotel (Magic Castle) for breakfast if you want it. We just walked which only takes 5 mins at the most (no wonder the yanks are obese if they can't take a small walk up and down a hill).

The location is great, you can easily walk to Hollywood Blvd for the nightlife, star walk and city tours. Plenty of places to eat also within walking distance.

Would I stay here again? 50/50 on that one. The place was nice enough, but could do with some TLC so I'd have to think carefully about it.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better your views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was one of the best places we've stayed in many years of traveling. It's hard to explain, because it's dated and a little worn around the edges. It has the atmosphere (and some furnishings) of something from the Rat Pack era of the 60's. but is still fairly nice and it exhibits a lot of class from it's glory days. Extreme value, the staff is really nice and helpful. Our spacious balcony-effeciency had a view of Hollywood and LA like from a postcard. The Yamashirio is a very classy old school Japanese restuarant that was fantastic and romantic, and it is right next door.
After a few days, we felt more like Hollywood apartment dwellers than just staying at a hotel. The breakfast (especially the coffee) was great. The cucumber ice water and snacks in the afternoons was a refreshing relief. It is very convenient to tons of famous attractions in Beverly Hills and Hollywood. The pool with the Japanese pagota is beautiful.
The Ritz it is not, but because of the relaxing atmosphere above the bustle of Hollywood, as well as the first class staff, I don't know if there is a better way to experience LA, on a budget than a stay at the Hollywood Hills.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichSikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

After much research, I chose this hotel as it was nearby to where one of our sons was living. We used it as a base of operations on either side of a road trip to the San Francisco area. Because our other son was traveling with us, we opted for the suite to begin with. We booked another suite (one floor higher) on our return to Hollywood. Then, when our son flew home before us, downsized to a smaller room. So, we got a good sampling of what they offer.
Customer service is a priority with this hotel, and everyone I dealt with . . . from initial booking, to the front desk, to the air conditioning mechanic, to the shuttle driver were all very pleasant and helpful.
Being separated from the Magic Castle Hotel, at the foot of the hill, was not a problem. Although we had our own rental car, we often used the shuttle for breakfast, or when we walked into the heart of Hollywood. The shuttle was ready when we were.
The swimming pool was a plus . . . located in a remote section of this hillside retreat, it was gated as was the entire hillside compound. Well-maintained, it provided relief from the hot temperatures.
My major gripe, was the level of building maintenance common to all rooms. Windows that didn't lock . . . same with a slider. Domestic water temperatures that were excessively hot, and were reported but not sure if they were fixed because of our short time in each room. Areas that needed caulking and painting.
Overall, we would stay here again as the viewpoint of the city from the hillside gave us a feeling of place. From our balcony, we could see the Griffith Observatory, downtown L.A., the Capitol Records building, and a good portion of Hollywood. From our third floor suite we could see half of the Hollywood sign. We were in good company, at that altitude, as we were on the same level as many of our Hollywood Hill neighbors . . .beautiful homes perched on the hillside.

Room Tip: If you're opting for a suite, (I believe there are only a couple) ask for the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SublimeSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel
#231 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#129 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hills Hotel
Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3782
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,170 - ₹ 7,788
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing