We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
65
178
148
50
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
178
148
50
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastchinese theatreminute walkmicrowave and fridgehollywood walk of famewaffle makerwalking distanceshower curtainroom was largestaff was very friendly and helpfullate checkenjoyed my stayfull kitchenparkingchannelsuberstarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017

My husband and I booked a room at the Hollywood Downtowner Inn for a recent visit with family. We were so pleased! Economical, clean, well-lit at night, and the room had a king-size bed, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, wifi, and parking was free! The owners are very committed to making sure you are happy. I loved the plants everywhere! The pool was lovely to look at (it was a bit chilly when we were there at the end of November). Our 2nd floor room even had a balcony over-looking the pool where we could go out on and sit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylc515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We walked here after a concert at the Greek theater walk took about 30 minutes. Staff are very nice professional and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious. Air-conditioner worked well which is good because it was a heatwave. We did ask for a room away from the street to avoid noise but there is just no escaping the jackhammering construction on the other side of the street but that is no fault of the hotel. It’s a decent location as it is about a 10 minute walk from the Chinese theater and everything else. There are lots of good coffee shops steps from the hotel and hotel itself offers a continental breakfast with fresh waffles. Still I think for what the hotel itself was what we paid was a bit overpriced and we were there in the off-season. But I know everything is expensive in Hollywood

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This is an unusually designed hotel but certainly nothing to complain about. The room was large, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. It could do with a jug and some cutlery, although there was a microwave. For us it could have gone to "excellent" with just a few items to make the room more comfortable, especially as we arrived quite late and the only food we could find was dried noodles from the store across the road. We would stay here again because it was a good location and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed here when we started our trip through the USA late september. As the owner himself said to us, many people come to his hotel with high expectations because of trip advisor reviews. I could see what he meant because it is a budget motel, where things are not perfect: we were missing utensils and cups in the kitchen (sometimes paper cups would appear miraculously, then not replaced on other days :-)). The building is older and broken toilet holders and ovens which were not cleaned are tell tale signs of a place which is run a little nonchalantly. But, and here is the big but: the staff is very friendly and helpful, we stayed in probably the most spacious apartment we have stayed in throughout our entire trip, the location was great, the breakfast pretty good and all in all this place has character, unlike all those anonymous colorless budget motels out there. The kids loved the sparkling clean pool and we could put our belongings in the room while it was being cleaned. I would most definitely recommend this place as a haven from home when you stay in Los Angeles, just keep in mind the money you are paying which really isn't much and that things therefore will not be flawless here.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished apartments at the back of the hotel: no street noise and a lot of space!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MandyC70_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

What a wonderful place to stay, right on Hollywood Blvd and only a few blocks away from the Hype of Hollywood Central.
We were very pleased with our room, which afforded us with a very relaxed location to come home to for the few days that we stayed.
Loved the down to earth and home cooked breakfast each morning at the Catch 56 which was right next door.
Very nice couple who ran this every morning and gave us some incredible advice on how to get around via the train to Universal Studio.
Speaking to the lovely Shayla who checked us in and advised us that the residence where we stayed was actually once owned by Rock Hudson.
Just Awesome.
Thank you

Room Tip: If you decide to book here, ask for the residence rooms which are located next door as they were fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward_duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews