We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown hotel with Japanese influences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #48 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice downtown hotel with Japanese influences”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in February 2012. Access was easy using public transport, 1 block from the Gold line Japantown station or 4 blocks from Civic Centre Red line. Area seemed safe in the evening with a reasonable selection of restaurants.

Rooms are a reasonable size with very comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Flat screen TV seemed huge. It was also good for getting some work done - connection to WLAN was easy (get the passcode at reception when you check in).

Staff were helpful and friendly. They speak at least English, Spanish and Japanese well.

The downstairs coffee bar is OK, but the area has a selection of restaurants also, including Japanese, Korean and Mexican. The hotel bar is OK (sit at the bar to avoid the 'karaoke' seating charge). There's a supermarket specializing in Japanese things in Japantown about 3 minutes walk away.

Convenient for the Japanese-American National Museum and other downtown attractions, plus Union station 1 stop away by Gold line.

An excellent downtown option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    374
    146
    34
    20
See reviews for
133
193
117
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

There is no better place to stay if you need to be handy for LA Union Station. The rooms are spacious, and the excellent service from the nice lady in the breakfast room is a GREAT start to the day...! I can highly recommend this hotel...!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2421356707655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I'm a New Yorker, originally from LA and had to come back for a wedding. My hotel needed to be in LA proper/central: my choice was Miyako or a hotel near the LA Live area (very touristy). Miyako may be in need of a renovation, but it's clean and reasonably priced, and most importantly, but it's in an up-and-coming, revitalized, and hipsterized Little Tokyo area. This is vital b/c there are times when you don't want to drive and just need a quick break or bite in the local surroundings. When i grew up, LT was dilapidated, almost ghetto-like. now it's teeming with cool boutiques, bars, delicious food, and is just a vibrant, cool place to hang out, everything within walking distance, and should eventually turn into more of a walking/strolling area without being a spectacle like Citywalk, etc. besides Japanese food, there is a german currywurst bierhaus, senor fish tacos, falafel, yogurt shops, etc.. everything within a block or two of Miyako.

If you're new to LA, you may not appreciate this hotel's location. But if you are a frequent visitor looking for something more charming, cool, under-the-radar yet still in-the-know, this hotel offers you a clean room, good service, and awesome location. It's also still central to everything else in LA with a quick drive. I didn't have a car while i stayed here, and i was STILL able to enjoy the neighborhood. Highly recommended, no qualms about the room or service at all. Would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toasty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

In the heart of Japantown with Japanese restaurants and shopping nearby. My room was very comfortable with king bed, easy chair with ottoman, desk, small fridge, safe, two phones (one cordless), flat screen TV, DVD player, iron and board and clock radio. The decor was very pleasant with Japanese touches and there was a great view of the Los Angeles skyline when standing at the window. The room was clean and the furnishings were very nice. The bathroom was small, but well appointed. It even had a combo toilet and bidet with heated seat and water. There were plenty of luxurious towels. The lobby has a marble floor and the feel of a Japanese hotel. There is a small gift shop and cafe and a Japanese-style restaurant with a buffet breakfast. Access from Los Angeles Union Station (Amtrak and Metrolink) is fast and easy (take the Gold Line Metro to the first stop: Japan Town Arts District and then walk one and one half block).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDHOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed 3nights at this hotel. The lobby was being renovating, and also the gym.The staff was very friendly...I was upset with the cable channel line up..Not enough channels for me...The spa/sauna rooms looked very peaceful. Unfortunately I did not have time for a massage. I suggest to pay extra for the 24hr valet service. Hotel is in little Tokyo, there are plenty of Japanese/Korean restaurants to choose from. My room was basic, I loved the toilet & the bed was extremely comfy......The view of LA skyline was beautiful. The LARGE WINDOW OPENS!!!!!!!! (no sceen, no bars))This is very important, especially if traveling with children.Make sure it's locked.... I did not eat at restaurant, but I bought breakfast at the lobby cafe. I do not think I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,134 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 328 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,810 - ₹ 21,309
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing