We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Nearby Hotels
Loews Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)
US$ 334
US$ 288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 219
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 327
US$ 281
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 328
US$ 273
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 171
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 244
US$ 229
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 373
US$ 335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 411/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 437/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Beverly Hilton(Beverly Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 346
US$ 300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 622
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 788/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
70
116
68
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
116
68
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshardwood floorsapartment buildingdouble park and leavehotel has free parkingwilshire blvdkorean townextra towelsking bedice machineboutique hotelstayed nightswould definitely stay here againroom was largekoreatownneighborhoodgaragektown
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights , end of Nov, prior to our son's wedding. This was our 2nd stay at the Shelter and found the rooms very clean. The staff ,especially Jason (the manager) and Stephen (deputy) were so friendly and courteous..On both occasions , when we arrived after a long flight from England , we were offered coffee before we'd even checked in.
We have stayed in more expensive Hotels which are nowhere near as clean as the Shelter.We prefer the dark floorboards rather than carpets, which often become stained in hotel rooms.
We find it very convenient for public transport as we don't hire a car in LA and there are some good eating places around.Jason & Stephen will happily print off any thing you might need from the Internet.
The WiFi connection is excellent and free of charge.
The only minus ,in our opinion , is there are no safes in the rooms.The management do offer to place your valuables in their safe , which is a help but not ideal.
We plan on staying again this autumn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oafc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed 25 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2012

So we come to LA for business about every 6 weeks and happen to find this hotel in its infancy- we have seen it grow from bare bones. We did not score it a "5" in all areas because it is a work in progress, but what it lacks in amenities and location it totally makes up for in service and price AND the beds are super comfy. We are out of our rooms all day so what's most important to us is safety and a goods night sleep- the covered garage, which they lock at night was a bonus- parking is free. There us never an issue with our requests and "everyone knows our name" hats off to you all! Jason, the GM has an awesome grasp on hospitality and has never disappointed. We will continue to book our stays with them with the level of service they provide.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villagetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed at Shelter for one night at a very reasonable rate. Amenities are pretty basic -- there's water and coffee available in the lobby.

There's a coffee maker, toiletries, free wifi, free parking, and cable. Unfortunately, it seems the hotel is still a work in progress. I know they are most likely aiming for a "minimalist" or zen feel but I think in part it's because they have not taken the time to think about their space. For one, there is no other lighting options in the room besides the overhead light - not even a desk lamp. The room also felt empty and not very cozy. For such a large room it could have used a love seat or small lounge chair, maybe a rug to warm the room up a bit.

Pros
Free Wifi
Free Parking ( although it gets full in the evening so you have to leave your keys at the concierge)
Comfortable bed
Nice bathroom
Central location
Reasonable nightly rate

Cons
Minimalist rooms to the point of uncoziness
No room service
No breakfast
weak coffee
You have to call the desk if you want entry late night while outside

Room Tip: The hotel is located in Koreatown. For those not familiar with Los Angeles, they might be in for a surprise. The location is very central and close to many restaurants -- freeways are easy to get to and it's a short drive to silver lake. But beware, I wouldn't call the neighborhood dangerous but there are occasionally police helicopters that hoover above. I would say if you are sensitive to noise make sure you get a room that does not face the main street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shipwrecked415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here to meet up with family in LA. Overall not disappointed for the price in this area, which could be upwards of $120 or so.

A few hours before we were set to check in, I got a call from Jason, the manager, asking for my permission if he could transfer us to the Wilshire Hotel, a sister company, since we needed double beds and they only had king beds available and were overbooked. I obliged, but after reading the reviews for the Wilshire, I immediately called him back and said I'd rather keep the king room at the Shelter Hotel. Jason told me that wouldn't be a problem.

When we checked in, a lovely man named Luis assisted us. He informed us that we were getting double beds, much to our relief. Check-in was fast and easy, and he gave us instructions on how their parking system works, which was: If you get to the garage and there are no more stalls available, just drive in, double-park, leave your keys with the concierge and they'll take care of it. True enough, when we got back that night, the whole garage was packed like sardines, so we left the keys downstairs and that morning, we found our car parked in a stall.

As for the room: It's very spacious, although very basic. The dark hardwood floors are nice, and the beds comfy. However, we didn't find too many amenities in the room: no hairdryer (good thing we brought our own), no iron/ironing board, no pen or notepad (lol - I couldn't find any when I needed them!)...but they did have a small coffeemaker, an flatscreen TV with cable, the usual toiletries, and a cute little wardrobe with some drawers.

I guess that's just how it is with boutique hotels - less is more!

There was a really loud pooch next door, so I rang Luis to ask if he could transfer us to another room. But he said they were overbooked and had no other rooms available. Thankfully, by the time we got back that night, the doggie had calmed down...maybe the owner slipped him some Xanax :)

We were also awakened by an annoying sound upstairs, like a child on a tricycle running around the entire room. Good thing we needed to get up anyway. But it went on the whole morning and the bad thing was the floors/walls were too thin you could virtually hear everything.

However, the pros outweigh the cons - so if I ever need a place to stay in Koreatown again, I won't hesitate to book with them for a second time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruisedlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews