We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, but very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Ranked #138 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, but very good”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel is very basic: a bed and a bathroom (no closet, so you shouldn't mind living out of a suitcase). But it's spacious, clean and I rather liked the minimalist decor. Free wifi, free parking and friendly staff. Location is good: between downtown and Hollywood, so perfect if you want to explore those two areas. Koreatown itself is not very special, but I felt safe. For this price, you cannot find anything better in LA. Recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    113
    66
    26
    18
See reviews for
27
138
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights , end of Nov, prior to our son's wedding. This was our 2nd stay at the Shelter and found the rooms very clean. The staff ,especially Jason (the manager) and Stephen (deputy) were so friendly and courteous..On both occasions , when we arrived after a long flight from England , we were offered coffee before we'd even checked in.
We have stayed in more expensive Hotels which are nowhere near as clean as the Shelter.We prefer the dark floorboards rather than carpets, which often become stained in hotel rooms.
We find it very convenient for public transport as we don't hire a car in LA and there are some good eating places around.Jason & Stephen will happily print off any thing you might need from the Internet.
The WiFi connection is excellent and free of charge.
The only minus ,in our opinion , is there are no safes in the rooms.The management do offer to place your valuables in their safe , which is a help but not ideal.
We plan on staying again this autumn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oafc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotati, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

So we come to LA for business about every 6 weeks and happen to find this hotel in its infancy- we have seen it grow from bare bones. We did not score it a "5" in all areas because it is a work in progress, but what it lacks in amenities and location it totally makes up for in service and price AND the beds are super comfy. We are out of our rooms all day so what's most important to us is safety and a goods night sleep- the covered garage, which they lock at night was a bonus- parking is free. There us never an issue with our requests and "everyone knows our name" hats off to you all! Jason, the GM has an awesome grasp on hospitality and has never disappointed. We will continue to book our stays with them with the level of service they provide.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villagetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed at Shelter for one night at a very reasonable rate. Amenities are pretty basic -- there's water and coffee available in the lobby.

There's a coffee maker, toiletries, free wifi, free parking, and cable. Unfortunately, it seems the hotel is still a work in progress. I know they are most likely aiming for a "minimalist" or zen feel but I think in part it's because they have not taken the time to think about their space. For one, there is no other lighting options in the room besides the overhead light - not even a desk lamp. The room also felt empty and not very cozy. For such a large room it could have used a love seat or small lounge chair, maybe a rug to warm the room up a bit.

Pros
Free Wifi
Free Parking ( although it gets full in the evening so you have to leave your keys at the concierge)
Comfortable bed
Nice bathroom
Central location
Reasonable nightly rate

Cons
Minimalist rooms to the point of uncoziness
No room service
No breakfast
weak coffee
You have to call the desk if you want entry late night while outside

Room Tip: The hotel is located in Koreatown. For those not familiar with Los Angeles, they might be in for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shipwrecked415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
1.1 km away
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#193 of 351 in Los Angeles
75 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
0.5 km away
JJ Grand Hotel
JJ Grand Hotel
#223 of 351 in Los Angeles
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Normandie
Hotel Normandie
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
611 reviews
1.2 km away
Oxford Palace Hotel
Oxford Palace Hotel
#201 of 351 in Los Angeles
45 reviews
1.2 km away
Ramada Los Angeles/Wilshire Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Property: Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Address: 457 S Mariposa Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90020-2904
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,311 - ₹ 13,919
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing