We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible staff, terrible room”
Review of Tokyo Princess Inn

Tokyo Princess Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tokyo Princess Inn
Ranked #61 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Had to stay this morning at this hotel, as I work night shift and my house is under construction.
Walked in at 7-30 am. The dude behind the counter quotes me $75 per room.
- But your website states it's $70.
- Oh, ok. You want 70 - fine.
Then he looks at me (I still had the uniform and the badge) and states:
- You are RN (nurse), right? You are making good money, what do you care if it's 70 or 75 dollars? Don't be cheap!
- Excuse me?! Are you counting the money in my pocket? It's a matter of principle!
Then I am asking for the quiet room, far from the road, in the courtyard, so that I could sleep. And the guy immediately quotes me $80 dollars. What a scumbag!
Anyway, I took the room, as I was so tired after had been working for 24 hours.
The room is a complete dump (room #117). One king size bed. The sheets were very clean, as well as towels (the only good thing about this room). The curtains were torn and dirty. Walls were dirty and the paint was chipping. The facet leaked and the counter got filled with water. Bathtub dirty. Shower facet is broket, but at least it worked. No remote from the TV.
2 dirty night stand lamps that were unplugged, since there was no plug anythere in the vicinity. But there was a mini fridge.
I mean, everything was shabby, falling apart and DIRTY.
And the front counter guy was just rude.
Will never stay there again. i don't recommend this hotel. AT ALL.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed at this small, heavily asian-themed motel for a few nights.  The prices were reasonable for the area and the furniture seemed to be fairly new.  Overall, it was good experience and I'd go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Pepperoni71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We have just returned from a weekend trip at the Tokyo Inn. The hotel is outdated, dirty and it did not feel safe at all.
If you can avoid it, please do so.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank patryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

From the outside it looks like a standard, run of the mill motel, but you are in for a treat. The reception area has some wonderful oriental furniture, and an incredible picture on the wall On entering any of the the rooms, you see a trip to the orient, with all the wonderful oriental furnishings.When I was there, the spa was not yet done, so I am anxious to see and use it on my next trip. The morning continental breakfast is the best I've seen in all my travels for the last 20 years.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank lindaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2007

I was here a year ago, and it does seem to be going downhill. As a previous reviewer wrote, there is not a lot of choice if you need to be in this area. There's a Marriot Courtyard down Ventura in Sherman Oaks and a place called "Best West Inn" also in Sherman Oaks, both about 5 minutes away. Otherwise, this is pretty much it. It's not that terrible. It has evidently been sold and they have not been maintaining it well. An old place needs constant upkeep and the new owner does not seem up to the job. It's a little shabby and things work pretty well, but don't expect more than that. There's a 24 hour desk clerk and they do try to be helpful. You don't have much choice and the prices are low end for the area. You get a continental breakfast if you're up before 9 AM, but you have to be nippy to get a banana, but there were always bagels, apples, and waffles (jam only - if you want syrup bring your own). If you are more demanding, go to the Marriot and pay more, it's only 5 minutes away. Otherwise, loosen up and enjoy the decor.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Ketzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#95 of 355 in Los Angeles
5,045 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,071 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#137 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Princess Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Princess Inn

Address: 17448 Ventura Blvd, Encino, Los Angeles, CA 91316-3827
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Tokyo Princess Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing