We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Third Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Ranked #189 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Northern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Third Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

In as much as I really want to love this independantly owned boutique hotel, I still cant bring myself to do it.

WHY??

OK, I am a person of size, meaning that the bathroom fixtures are WAY TOO SMALL.
The shower, while ample in the curtain area still has its flaws.
This hotel is not compliant in many ways, so if you need an elevator, forget it!
Lots of steps.

THe front desk attendents can be very helpful and for the most part polite.

The woman who owns the place was there when I checked in and she told me the building was built in the 1930s.

She was very nice as well.

OK, so the place is not the Best Western or the Holiday inn, but it is not corperate owned either. I like to support independant business. And since this is only a place to sleep while out on the town, I will continue to stay here,







Previously reviewed:

I have now stayed here twice. As previous reviews have stated the location is EXCELLENT. My traveling partner and I wanted close to the Magic Castle and a decent room rate. That is what this basic "no frills" hotel has to offer.
PROS:
Location
Decent size rooms and bathrooms
decent quality bed.
great "budget" price.

CONS:
Limited parking (lot was full when I pulled in late Saturday night and had to leave keys at front desk for consideration of other guests.)
No bottled water or sugar free beverages in the nearly out of product vending machine.
Not ADA complient. No elevator, lots of stairs
and finally, their bookkeeping department!

Re: bookkeeping: I reserved 2 nights (Friday night and Saturday night) departing Sunday morning. After being on the road 1/2 way home to the SF Bay area, I get a call from the hotel bookkeeper. "You owe us for another night." she says. I told her we left at 11:00 am check out time, gave our keys to the housekeeping lady because the front desk guy was tending to something else. She then asks me to mail her or fax her my receipt when I got home as she did not have a copy of it. (WHAT? no reciept copy which I signed???) We hang up, she then calls me back (as I am driving) and then tells me she made a mistake and apologizes.

So, other than this customer service incident, I would reccomend this place highly as you get a nice clean space. Pay cash and get a receipt.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank never_again01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    68
    64
    49
    95
See reviews for
71
105
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Theh hotel itself isnt too bad in terms of size, cleanliness, location etc. However the service is another story! The receptionists spend more time playing on the computer or loud chats on their phones. We also had a "party" of people stay on our floor who were up in the corridor drinking and chatting til 5am - reception did nothing and when i complained they said there was nothing they could do. How about get them to stop? Throw them out? Call the police? No apology given to me either. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Avoid booking this hotel at all costs. I booked a two night stay and paid one night's deposit. A few weeks later I wanted to extend the booking by a night and emailed them to request this. I received no response after several emails and eventually made three phone calls in an endeavour to see if the extension was possible. They eventually sent an email which had details on it that I could not decipher. I again made a phone call to try and get them to send me proper confirmation ...... and I am still waiting. Wwe haven't been there yet but if their booking process is indicative of theri service I'm not looking forward to the stay.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yolanda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had such mixed thoughts about this place - the location to the Hollywood Boulevard is great, in fact it is literally on the back door of the Kodak Theatre.

Check-in was friendly. We had a 'suite' which was anything but. Everything felt dirty. The kitchen was large but devoid of any utensils, toaster etc. The room layout was terrible, lacking mains outlets and random furniture everywhere.

The main socket in the kitchen fell to bits in my hand (see photo), and the telephone was filthy and complete with someone's hair (see photo).

Breakfast was absolutely the worst attempt at catering we have ever experienced. Undrinkable dishwater-coffee, children's watered-down orange and all served in the smallest room imaginable. It really can't be that difficult to get this so wrong?

Although it was a budget hotel, we wouldn't ever come back here but instead try the other budget hotels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I loved our room and location. We got a suite which included a comfy king bed, a huge bathroom area and a kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was awesome. Literally 2 minute walk to the mall, hollywood blvd, kodak theater and chinese theater. Very quiet hotel. No complaints at all. The people at the front desk where very helpful and friendly. I would totally stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoiledinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Highland Gardens Hotel
#233 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#134 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Hollywood La Brea Motel
#184 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Cityview Inn & Suites
Hollywood Cityview Inn & Suites
#250 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Property: Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,377 - ₹ 17,597
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Liberty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hollywood Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing