We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One block from Hollywood Boulevard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Ranked #189 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Gainesville FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One block from Hollywood Boulevard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

A European style hotel - two story, no elevator, simple breakfast (coffee, muffins, bagels), coin operated washer and dryer on site, WiFi, and TV and free parking in lot behind - no frills. Can't beat the convenience to mass transit and to walking Hollywood Boulevard. The mall at Hollywood and Highland (one block) has numerous restaurants and stores and some entertainment. Other restaurants are on the boulevard along with theaters and stores of all kinds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    68
    64
    49
    96
See reviews for
72
105
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Aus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We booked this hotel basically because we couldn't afford Beverly Hills. If you want a hotel close to Hollywood Boulevard then this is great. The rooms were made each day which was also great.

However, from check in the people that greeted us were rude, spoke in foreign language in front of us, and didn't seem to even know about our booking through expedia.

The rooms were old, run down, and smelt if the a/c wasn't on. The shower was terrible, and the toilet was disgusting.

Pay extra and stay somewhere better, Hollywood is crap

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Went to this LA hotel with a friend (we're two girls in our early 20's) 23rd June - 30th June 2011

We got to the hotel at 9pm at night (after missing a connection in Chicago! Argh!) and we were checked into our ground floor room fast and efficiently. There were two double beds in the main room, with a chest of drawers containing a TV with lots of cable channels and there was a large table in the corner. No door to the bathroom but this never caused a problem the whole week we were there so don't let this startle you. The toilet did have a door and was at one end of the bathroom and the shower was large, and was very easy to use, it was great.
The reception staff were always friendly and didn't mind looking after our passports the whole week (recommended) . The room was cleaned and beds made daily and towels were changed every other day and the maids were very friendly and even washed a towel for me i brought from home without me asking. Nothing went missing from our room at any point in the week.
The room was basic, but this hotel is all about the location, its a 1-2 min walk from the main blvd which has the Chinese Theatre and the Walk of Fame. and a 3 min walk from the underground metro station which will get you everywhere you want to go for a very great price.
Lots of great restaurants in the area including The Rolling Stone lounge, Hard Rock Cafe, California Pizza Kitchen, Boho (who do an AMAZING steak) and Hollywood Grill. Lots of other places to eat along hollywood blvd.
All in all I highly recommend this hotel, the bad reviews must have been unlucky? The location is second to none and we got a great nights sleep in the room every night.
If you want something more glamorous there is the Renaissance Hotel right next door, but it is double the price, why pay more??
Loved the stay and cant wait to go back =)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicky_starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

First time review which we are doing because we found Trip Advisor so helpful planning our US holiday.

This hotel is basic but comfortable, clean and the rooms are big. The location is unbeatable for Hollywood Blvd and the metro.

We got breakfast (albeit basic) and wi-fi included which we werent expecting.

Only one of the three receptionists we spoke to seemed to have a good grasp of English or a desire to help.

If you want a basic hotel to sleep in only for a good price and a great location this hotel is fine, just don't ask the reception person for anything too difficult.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirsttimeUStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

I had stayed at the Liberty Hotel a few years ago and it was a decent experience, nothing like what happened this time. Last time, we had a room on the second floor, was nice and quiet, room cleaning was great, and the hotel was in a great location.

This time, while the location is still great, we had barely any water pressure when trying to take a shower (it would just trickle out of the shower head), the sink hot water barely ran, and there were silverfish in various places in the room (yuck.)

We got the "Liberty Suite" or "Junior Suite" as they called it, which came with a little kitchenette which was roomy, but it consisted of a fridge that never felt cold, but some how made all your beverages turn to ice regardless of its temperature setting, and a microwave from the early 70s that we did not dare use.

Our room was missing a hair dryer, and when we asked the staff, they tried to take one from another room, but couldn't find any that weren't attached to the walls. The girl at the front desk spoke in a heavy Russian accent, and acted like she was stoned out of her mind when trying to deal with the hair dryer issue.

There was an ironing board but no Iron, and I didn't even attempt to resolve that one.

Our room was on the first floor and it was noisy all throughout the night. As people came and went, you could hear their footsteps and every word they said, the door lock worked but felt like it could be kicked in without much effort.

We felt dirty the entire time we stayed there, and the lack of water pressure in the shower didn't help alleviate that at all.

The 'continental breakfast' is tucked away in a side room every morning, and it's what you'd expect from a hotel like this: one jug of milk for all visitors, one jug of OJ, some half-empty cereal containers, and a few slices of bread / pastries that the manager bought from the corner store.

There are no tea or coffee pots in room, and during this breakfast they put out one container of coffee, one container of hot water (for tea, but no tea bags....) and one container of decaf.

Even though the location is GREAT (right behind hollywood/highland, and beside the Renaissance), I won't be staying here again. Last year we stayed at the Renaissance and every time we walked by it, we wished we were in there again instead of Hotel Liberty.

We had the maids service the room on our second day and all they did was make the bed and give us new towels. We didn't make any mess, but the sheets were not changed... they simply made the bed. Eventually we just left the privacy please sign up since we didn't want to risk the maids leaving the door open to our room and walking away much like they did the other rooms we saw.

We would leave for the morning the door to a few rooms would be wide open with no hotel staff in sight. The rooms were not vacant, either. With two entrances (which they leave the door wide open all day), anyone could walk in and take your things without you knowing they were ever there.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDeanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Highland Gardens Hotel
#230 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#134 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Hollywood La Brea Motel
#185 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Property: Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,510 - ₹ 17,683
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Liberty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing