We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here twice and still loved it as much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Ranked #79 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here twice and still loved it as much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here back in September 2011 (after staying 3 nights in west Hollywood Anzac hotel and had a bad experience with our money being stolen from the hotel's deposit box).

We loved the hotel, the service and the location, so we came back to stay here again for one night.

Things that we love about LACC
1. The Room is nice although it is a bit dark. We got the king bed room and the bed was really comfortable. My parents got the queen room, so they did not enjoy their bed as much. Although, they were compensated with complimentary fruit platters in their room upon arrival (nice touch).
2. The breakfast - it's included in your room rate. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Selection was great, they even had waffles and omelet station for Saturday breakfast.
3. The location - it's not west Hollywood for sure but it's good in a different way. Mainly being close to the metro. If you don't drive this is a definite plus. The metro is about 5-10 minutes walk and from there you can go toHollywood highland station where the wax museum, Chinese theatre, celebrity tour meeting points are located or to universal studio station (you still need to take complimentary shuttle bus, but it's really easy - 5 minutes ride)
4. The parking fee -$14 per day in and out facility. Hey it's LA afterall, so $14/day is cheap.

What we don't really like about the hotel
1. The parking entrance -the parking entrance is on the other side of the building (relative to the main entrance) and the streets are one way so it is easy to miss the entrace and when you do, you will need to make a loop around.
2. There's no elevator from the carpark to the lobby. We had to drag our bulky suitcases up a few steps here and there to get to the Lobby. Suggestion: drop your bag at the main entrance before parking your car. It'll save you from sore muscles the next day...
3. My parents room's smoke alarm went on for no apparent reason in the middle of the night. The staff was helpful but they lost valuable sleep. Also, their room faced the street and apparently when they opened the window, it was very noisy. We didn't have that problem with our room.

All in all, we still think it's a great hotel at a great value. Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s_nataw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    148
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
149
37
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

LA Athletic Club is conveniently located with an incredible fitness center, warm and welcoming staff with well appointed rooms. While the building is older, the rooms are big, comfortable and allow for a quiet night's sleep. Love the iHome to charge my phone!

Room Tip: Ask to pay for an upgrade to a suite - well worth the extra dollars for added space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here while in town for a show at Club Nokia. This is a beautiful hotel with excellent customer service. The front desk associates were helpful and friendly as was the dining staff. Our room was fairly small but elegantly appointed. Breakfast was delicous and relaxed. Take a walk and visit some of the public rooms and meeting halls. Amazing! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bingenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Los Angeles has many wonderful places to stay that will "wow" you. The Los Angeles Athletic Club is a unique "wow" that I would strongly recommend. The staff is wonderful. This was proven when I proceeded to change the day of needing a rental car about 3-4 times and yet they did it without blinking an eye or having a concern.

The workout facility is beyond fantastick. With floors of cardio, swimming pool, basketball court and weights (free and universal), you can get any kind of workout in.

Being within the Jewelry District, it was safe and easy to get in and out of.

For business or pleasure, stay here and have a hell of a workout. Your body will thank you!!

Room Tip: To go in great style, call ahead to get the suites and they will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limby12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was in LA for a convention. Unfortunately, I arrived on Saturday around 4:00. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant that serves on weekends. Breakfast buffet is available until 10:30. After that you're out of luck. Fortunately, there are some nice restaurants in the area. The hotel is very nice. I can honestly say that the rooms are the quietest rooms I have ever been in! Very comfortable beds. If you have time for a good workout, this is the place to be! Swimming pool, basketball court, workout room * more that I didn't get a chance to check out. People that work there were very nice, especially the bellman who had been there, I think he said, 27 years! I will say that people behind the desk were very sweet, but not very knowledgeable. I asked where the fashion district was & she didn't even know what that was! The hotel is close to the convention center, too. About a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sls1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#138 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#39 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Property: The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,226 - ₹ 22,165
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing