We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$286
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$314
View deal
Official Site
$198
View deal
Hotels.com$314
Priceline$314
Trip.com$395
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
255
146
83
55
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
146
83
55
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared room rooftop bar broken shaker exchange restaurant whole foods downtown la bed dorm enjoyed my stay ace hotel cool hotel heart of downtown boutique hotel staples center dtla bunk roommates lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2022

A small group of us traveled to LA for a jiujitsu training trip. The Freehand was perfectly located with lots of food and entertainment options all around and within walking distance of the gym we were training at. We rented one of the 6 bunk rooms and it was cost effective and comfortable. The only downside was the pool not being open until after noon. We would have loved to have gotten a morning swim in before training.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 259jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Thank you for the nice review. We are very happy the location worked out well for your party! Apologies regarding the pool hours. We will look to be opening earlier as we head in to summer. Hope this will not keep you from returning!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2022

This place is great! But beware of the $16 chips and guac served on the roof top. I wish there was a little more lighting in the lobby, but I’m glad they have a little gym so people can stay fit. Will book again!

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KingMayHyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Thank you King. We are happy you had an enjoyable visit and will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2022

LA local looking for a staycation of sorts for a birthday weekend. We had big hopes for the Freehand but unfortunately they fell short and we ended up checking out early. We upgraded to the studio suite which was on the corner of the 7th floor, a nice sized room but unfortunately right across from housekeeping making for a very noisy Saturday morning. The room amenities were lacking, no lotion or qtips etc, and generally looked a little worse for the wear. It's unseasonably hot in LA right now and we were looking forward to spending a day in the sun with a pool. However when we got upstairs at 12:30 pm, we were told it was a 2 hour wait to get a pool chair with a 2 hour time limit once in the chair. Really wish they had a chair reservation system, we ended up not staying the 2 hours and decided to leave and check out a day early. When checking out, we heard other guests complaining to a manager (not sure about what) but when the guest walked away there were some faces made by staff regarding the conversation, didn't feel very professional or respectful. Overall, we will not stay here again and for the price I'm sure there's something with a little more amenities in the area.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank taylor12345201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Hello and thank you for your candid feedback. Our sincere apologies in regard to any noise you experienced from our staff on the floor. We will follow-up internally regarding this. Pool chairs are on a first/come-first/serve basis. Our pool area is not very big so it would not be fair to all guests who wish to access if they reserved seating. The two hour limit is in place just for that very reason. If not in place, guests would keep the chairs all day not allowing other guests to enjoy.

Again, our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2022

´Will never stay here again. AC didn't work on room wouldn't get below 80 degrees causing you too sweat and overheat. No one fixed the AC during my stay. My room also only had warm and hot water so when brushing your teeth you would have to use hot water. ... Nasty

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank daniA3379DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Apologies for the issue you experienced. Obviously the room should not have been released in the condition you described however we have no notation of any issues being reported. Generally and AC issue is a simple adjustment of the thermostat. We would have been happy to have checked on and resolved both of these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2022

I stayed at the Freehand with my fiance and we had one of the best hotel stays together. The check-in process was very pleasant and the attendant who served us (I forgot her name!) made our night by upgrading our room with a view of the downtown skyline for the same price. We loved our room; the design and the decor were unique and the amenities were generous. We will definitely consider staying another time.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sitalemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

What an AMAZING review! We are so thrilled that you loved the hotel and your overall experience. Hopefully you were able to get some time to spend at our beautiful rooftop pool and bar: Broken Shaker! If not, definitely next time!

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews