We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Hollywood Sign Hiking Tour to Griffith Observatory
73

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Griffith Observatory
Reviews (20,703)
Filter reviews
20,703 results
Traveller rating
13,377
5,910
1,134
172
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13,377
5,910
1,134
172
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hollywood sign solar system tesla coil planetarium shows rebel without a cause james dean hiking trails great views of la view of los angeles greek theatre parking spot interesting exhibits walk up great place to visit worth the trip hollywood hills telescope
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 20,703 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Alas, we went on a Sunday around noon. The road going up was absolutely packed, and there was no parking whatsoever. We had to drive by without stopping and leave. Unfortunately, I was not prepared for the large weekend crowds. Next time will try public transportation to the observatory.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank JAMA293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024 via mobile

Great to see but so packed and luckily we were on a tour as parking looks to be a nightmare
Plenty of things to see and loads having picnics

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank 654angb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2024

If you are looking for a place that can take you to the stars, this is the place! So much knowledge! Also, you can see the "Hollywood" sign from there. After walk to all levels (there are 3) you can eat something from the cafe. If you driving there and wants to park really close to the Observatory, go really early otherwise, park in the parking lot of the theather and get a bus to the top! It is to far away to walk!

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024 via mobile

This is well worth a visit, just for the views alone. Be prepared, though, parking can be tricky, especially at the weekend. We parked at the bottom of the hill (on Monday) near the Trails Cafe and hiked (about 1 mile) up to the observatory. During the week it opens at 12pm. We got there about 11.30am and there was plenty of parking available in the car park at the very top and also on the hill near the top ($10/hour). We went back at the weekend (opens at 10am) and by contrast it was very, very busy. Only Ubers were being allowed up to the top carpark. We parked further down the hill and had a bit of a walk back up. It's free to get into the observatory, and $10 is see the show in the planetarium. Well worth it. You also get some good LA views and the Hollywood sign is in the distance. Definitely worth a visit...even with the parking!

Date of experience: May 2024
2  Thank 804suew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2024

Visited: 17/06/2023

This is a fabulous observatory with lots of exhibits on space, you get nice views of Hollywood and the Hollywood sign. There is even a section you can go in and view through a telescope but it had a huge queue, so we went to the Astronomers who had different smaller telescopes dotted around the grounds to see different planets. It's a really nice building and great place to visit.

The only downside was the transport up there. There is limited parking so they have shuttle buses, but these are rammed ridiculously full, there aren't enough of them as we passed 2 very full stops as we were full, and the roadway it clogged by people trying to park higher up despite limited spaces so they blocked the roads and it took ages to get up and down. Ideally the road needs blocking off to all vehicles except the shuttles and those with disability badges (if parking available). And more shuttles are needed too.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank onwardtheygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews