We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hookers in the bars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #24 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North America
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hookers in the bars”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Shocked to go from a cozy boutique hotel to the JW Marriott in downtown LA for a convention. On multiple nights I was in the hotel bar and lounge area. On more than four occasions during the week of June 4, 2012, gaggles of hookers were working the business crowd. Without a doubt hotel / bar management knew of this, but said nothing.

The hotel is modern, but the rooms and hallways already look dated, like something from a 1970s Holiday Inn.

Seriously, paying this money, go elsewhere. No class.

Room Tip: The lights and noise from LA Live make the rooms on the lower levels loud and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    716
    184
    67
    44
See reviews for
325
364
92
970
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Situed downtown LA, close to Nokia theater and Stapples theater. It is a very modern hotel with an impressive lobby. Two restaurants in the hotel, and some others at a walking distance make the place easy to stay and to live for a while. Rooms are big with a king size bed, very comfortable, ask for a upper floor room to benefit from the view or you will only see the wall of the building accross the road !... Service is nice but without any special attention to the customer. Very convenient for business seminars.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is brand new and amazing. It has all the amenities you expect of a JW and a sleek design. For business its perfect as a quick hop over to the convention center. There are also plenty of restaurants in the staples center area for any palate. Overall I had a great stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a week during a convention. Prior to my trip, I heard horror stories from colleagues who had events at the LA Convention Center, how it was very dangerous, there were homeless people wandering around, and in general how dirty it was.

When I got there ... I was thoroughly and pleasantly surprised. The hotel is fairly new, so it doesn't show the convention wear and tear like others like it do. The front desk staff was exceptionally helpful upon check in, tracking down packages and leaving messages for guests for me.

Because I'm a platinum member, I was upgraded to an Executive King, which is basically a corner room with a large hallway. My room faced the Nokia Theatre and Staples Center. The room was large, fresh and very clean. There wasn't a tub, but the walk-in shower was spacious. The sink area had a shelf underneath for storage, which was very nice. Large windows dominated the room and the sunlight could be intense in the morning.

The drawback of having a corner room with large windows are the lights from the Nokia Theatre and Staples Center. I had to use paperclips to close my curtains properly so I wouldn't be disturbed by the flashing lights outside.

The concierge/executive lounge is one of the best I've ever been to. I enjoyed breakfast there each morning of my stay except Saturday, when the lounge was closed. The variety and quality they had there was outstanding!

Because there were several groups in-house, gLAnce bar, the Mixing room, and the ION pool bar were frequently closed for private events, so I wasn't able to experience them. The LA Market restaurant is good although the lunch service was a bit iffy although not terrible.

There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and every time I walked around, I saw security patrols which made me feel very safe.

There were events at the Staples Center and Nokia Theatre while I was there, and although my room faced those venues, I wasn't disturbed by the noise.

Overall, this is a great hotel and I'm looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: If your room faces the Nokia Theatre and Staples Center, be prepared for bright lights despite the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

JW Marriott at LA Live is a standard upscale business class hotel immediately adjacent to the Staples Center in downtown Los Angeles. It is close to a Metro stop. The hotel is new, clean and modern, offering first class amenities. Rooms are quiet and the air conditioning is relatively unobtrusive. However, rooms located on the plaza side of the building are subject to noise from musical events held there. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful, particularly Joy at the concierge desk. Housekeeping was very efficient and effective.
There are some chain restaurants close by the hotel but more diverse off-site dining choices are a 5-10 block walk. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel ("LA Market"). Neither the food nor the service at breakfast was anything but mediocre. Consequently we cancelled reservations we had made for dinner there and went elsewhere. The restaurant experience and the noise from the plaza one night prevent me from giving this hotel a higher rating.

Room Tip: avoid the plaza side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfred33235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#31 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,081 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
550 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#37 of 348 in Los Angeles
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 348 in Los Angeles
607 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,935 - ₹ 46,573
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing