We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price and value, walking distance to convention center.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice for the price and value, walking distance to convention center.”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

THis hotel has been updated. The rooms were very clean and updated well appointed. The breakfast was very good and I liked the customer service at the desk. My staff and I stayed here and we were very comfortable for our convention at the Long beach convention center. Very good value for the price and length of stay. I did find that it depends on the time of year if you get a good rate, and we did. Totally worth it. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    179
    49
    17
    23
See reviews for
122
139
41
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, Californa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent a few days at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were modern and clean. They had a pool, exercise room, free breakfast and free high-speed internet. The staff helped us find our way around and everyone was pleasant. We also went to Catalina Island for a day cruise. The terminal was very close to the hotel. A short cab ride, we were at the terminal in less than 10 minutes. Overall this Best Western was a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed here last year for a brief stay and this time for six nights while attending a conference at the Convention Center. Everything about the experience was enjoyable from the pleasant welcome when I dragged in after a long cross country flight to the pleasant greeting whether I was coming down for breakfast or returning from a day of meetings.
Rooms are large. Complimentary wifi strong signal easy to log on. Many amenities offered in the area of toiletries including shaving kit, shoe mitt, toothbrush, sewing kit, etc. In room coffee maker as well.
The complimentary breakfast includes eggs and breakfast meet, make yourself waffles, cereal, pastries, yogurt, etc.
There is a small, shallow, indoor pool. Probably ok for young children.
Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here just one night, after I had to leave the Holiday Inn Downtown because of the abysmal conditions.

The Best Western was everything I hoped for in a hotel. Clean, nice, okay location. There was complimentary breakfast but I didn't try it. Free, decent-speed wifi in the room.

The only cons were the price ($250 for one night), the in-case-of-damages deposit ($100 hold on my credit card for one night), and no fridge (had to throw out dinner leftovers). The name is a misnomer, as the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, but it's close enough, just inaccurately named. The Hyatt is AT the Long Beach Convention Center, for comparison.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelladybug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

In February, my daughter had an early morning athletic competition at the Long Beach Convention Center, so I decided to drive down the night before in order to avoid rush hour traffic. I wanted to be within walking distance of the Convention Center, but I didn't want to pay for an expensive hotel. It's not cheap to stay in Long Beach even during the winter, but the Best Western Plus offered a decent rate and a good location. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Best Western Plus to the Convention Center--two blocks south, then one block west. I paid $10 for nightly parking and was allowed to leave my car in the parking garage until the early afternoon, thus I was able to avoid paying for parking again at the Convention Center.

Before we left our house, I printed off directions to the hotel from Mapquest. Unfortunately, there was unexpected road construction on the freeway, and I got a little lost trying to follow the detour signs. The neighborhood we were driving through seemed a bit sketchy. I called the hotel in a panic, but the receptionist calmly gave me further directions to the hotel. When we finally arrived, she quickly checked us in, told us where we could park, and noted that we needed a wake-up call.

Although it was very late and we were extremely tired, I had a very pleasant overall impression of the room. It had high ceilings and luxurious little touches you don't usually find in this caliber of hotel. For example, the counter tops were black marble and the sheets had a high thread count. The amenities in the bathroom were well-stocked, and there was plenty of hot water for the shower in the morning. While I thought it was odd that I didn't find an alarm clock on the table between the double beds, I just put my cell phone next to me to check the time during the night. Also, a bus line ran right outside our window, so I started to hear the buses go by early in the morning. Since I had to get up anyways, the noise really didn't bother me. But if I had wanted to sleep longer I would have gone looking in my suitcase for my earplugs.

The room rate included a hot waffle breakfast served downstairs in a small room off the lobby. The space filled up quickly with athletes, coaches, parents and businessmen, but the attendants brought out small plastic trays so we could go eat in the lobby or in our rooms. After the competition, my daughter wanted a hamburger for lunch. I stopped by the front desk before picking up the car, and the two clerks took extra time to give me maps and directions to the nearest "In and Out".

If you want to stay close to the Long Beach Convention Center, I would definitely recommend this hotel. We will certainly stay here if my daughter ever competes in Long Beach again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street if you don't like to hear the early morning buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 55 in Long Beach
2,344 reviews
1.8 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
5,996 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 55 in Long Beach
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.7 km away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.8 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,380 - ₹ 22,888
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing