We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Stay at Schoolhouse Creek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Ranked #3 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay at Schoolhouse Creek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband stayed here twice previously under the old management and were quite pleased each time; we were worried that the new owners would have changed everything we liked about the Inn. We were delighted to find that the new owners have made quite a few, much-appreciated changes.

The photos on the website do not accurately reflect the decor of the rooms, since the new owners have redecorated. We loved the coastal contemporary design of our room (Thyme) and appreciated that the new curtains completely block the light and the door was easy to open! The last time we were here, it took some muscle to get the lock to work.

We also very much enjoyed the new breakfast format, with a choice of hot dishes. Our made-to-order omelets were delicious, as were all the little pastries and such offered in the buffet area at breakfast.

This would have been a five-star review, except for the following: the heater in our room is actually a gas fireplace. We have always loved it, but this time it came on at 1am and made a loud, constant ticking noise. It would not stop and was too loud to allow us to sleep, so we had to turn it off. We, therefore, woke up to a freezing-cold room. We told Rowyn about it before we left, and she seemed genuinely surprised and concerned about it--I have no doubt that the staff here takes pride in the Inn and in the comfort of its guests.

Overall, it was yet another wonderful stay, and it will be five stars if the heater doesn't keep us up, next time!

Room Tip: Thyme is, for all intents and purposes, a stand-alone cottage. We have checked out all the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveshooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    41
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I travel for a living as well as for pleasure. As we all know accommodations can make or break an entire vacation, stay or business trip. Having said this I have never taken the time to rate and Inn, Hotel or resort.
The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek is a pleasure in so many ways. My Wife lived in Mendocino for 6 years and knows the area well. Staffing is superb with honest happiness that is infectious. Cleanliness is 5 stars (critical in my opinion). The atmosphere is classy yet laid back. This place offers the world and does it at a value.
I would keep a place like this a secret so I could keep outperforming my friends, but this place should be enjoyed by all and the owners rewarded for their hard work. Hot tub and sauna, with world class ocean views, private beach, and classy breakfast in historic building….. And on and on and on.
Take my advice and save your money and get more than the so called cream of the crop, because the cream of the crop is The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek.

Room Tip: The Garden House is stand alone and offers a great view of the garden and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here about 10 years ago and found the morning breakfast to be the best thing about the stay, delicious, but the rooms were a bit dreary. FAST FORWARD to the present... we were lucky enough to meet the new owners of this charming B & B who invited us to visit them again, and so we did. What a difference new management can make! All of the rooms have been updated to lovely, bright, clean and comfortable, some with great views. Nice quiet location, just a short drive from Mendocino Village. Happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have stayed here 4 times and it's just a great place lots of open space for dogs to run and play. You get a breakfast of your choice every morning. The location is close to Mendocino, Fort Bragg and lots of beaches. My goal is to stay here at least once a year if not more......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterview51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked here based on a Living Social deal that included a night's stay and $50 towards a massage. This place is adorable. We had an ocean-view room that was small, but sweet, with a fireplace and a deck for more of the view. A walk around the grounds yielded sights of bunnies, squirrels and all kinds of birds (the staff knew the species too). There are lawns, flower beds, a stream with a bench-swing, a lifesize chess set and a yurt!

The yurt was the best part because it was in there that I got massaged to the point of bliss - two hours with hot stones and essential oils. Sigh. Breakfast was good too, just greasy enough to work off the wine hangover from the night before!

Room Tip: The website has pictures of each room and its amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
4.8 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
17.1 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 km away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.0 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.6 km away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Schoolhouse Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Schoolhouse Creek

Property: Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Address: 7051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,115 - ₹ 18,237
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Schoolhouse Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek on the Mendocino Coast provides a unique experience on the Northern California Coast with cottages and rooms spread out over 9 acres of lush gardens, meadows and forested land as well as our cliffside cottages with amazing white water ocean views.Come escape to the coast and discover our distinctive Inn’s cottages and rooms offering all the amenities you are looking for to relax, unwind and get away from it all--ocean views, fireplaces, cliffside cottages, hot tubs, Jacuzzi tubs, bountiful breakfasts, spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Inn at Schoolhouse Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Schoolhouse Creek Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing