We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
9
10
7
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
7
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We ended up stopping here as night was dropping hard and I was a little tentative on driving the dark, curvy road at night.
This is an interesting place directly across from Lake Isabella and a campground, with a fantastic view. We saw one other motel about a mile down the road, and after that was about 32 miles before the next one.
The proprietor was friendly and easy-going, although you have to go upstairs to the restaurant/bar area to check in, which wasn't readily apparent.
Our room was HUGE, very outdated, minimalistic as for the little amenities you get used to taking for granted while out and about...there was no phone, but the 'basics' were there.
I read another review this morning that mentioned this place must have had a heyday back in the road-trip-as-common days and I guess I'd have to agree....it just seems to have fallen by the wayside and into a state of 'hanging in there'. A little bit of a facelift would do a lot... that being said, we slept comfortably and were on our way the next morning.
The price seemed a little steep...but factor in the relative isolation (not a lot of nearby competition) and not having to drive into the darkness and it was worth it for us.

Room Tip: The rooms are not designated smoking/non smoking. This may be of concern to non-smokers.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Antekis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were on our way from San Jose to Death Valley and stayed in hotel just to have a good sleep. I called to reserve right from our way. It worked for our family with two kids(9 and 7yo). we had a room with one king and two twins - just perfect. You can get a dinner, which the lady(I think the owner) cook for you. No breakfast though, we ate in Inyokern (around 30 min drive) a good breakfast. The shower can work better, but it is OK just for one time use. And is is just tree ours to drive to Death Valley. May be a bit pricy but there are nothing else to stay at night around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElenaM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This place is all about LOCATION. We found it by chance on our way through the Sierra without any prebooked hotels. Usually we stay in 4 or 5 star properties, but Paradise Cove looked like a movie set from the street- so we gave it a try. Yes - it is not the Ritz. But: stay her for one night and you will never forget it. The view and the fresh air and the wilderness feeling are unbeatable. We forgot about many of the high end hotels we have stayed in - but we will never forget the view and the feel when stepping out on the porch of paradise cove in the early morning.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Lake -sabellas best kept secret! The family run atmosphere, friendly accomidating staff, breth taking views! What morew could you want. Yes.....rooms are older , But clean. We are already planning our next trip! Been there twice in a month. The only thing I can say is missing is a pool. The food in the dining was excellent! Full bar with super duper Long Island Iced teas! Try it. You might like it. We sure do!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoods2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This lodge / motel / hotel has a fantastic view from the rooms (Lake Isabella) and that's just about it! The bed and towels were OK (and clean) but everything else had a 'dirty feel' - even the TV handset! The amenities were sadly lacking - some of the electrical fittings looked positively dangerous - no coffee maker and the shower/bathroom looked like it could do with a serious refurb!
We stayed at the Hyatt Place (Phoenix) before and Comfort Inn (Lone Pine) after for less dollars and both gave fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here ask to check the room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews