We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Camarones Aguachiles Ever!”
Review of Chef Serape

Chef Serape
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

My favorite dish at Chef Sarape is their Aguachiles. Also, the Carne Asada street tacos are the bomb! I eat here often and I highly recommend it. The best Mexican restaurant/food in the KRV.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank cyndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We visited this little place in downtown Lake Isabella. After enjoying a reasonably priced meal with my wife, I am not sure why it wasn't packed? The service was positive and the food was flavorful. We even took some home with us because the serving size was more than we could eat in one setting.

If you have a calling for Mexican Food, stop in. I bet you will receive Fast Service and Value for your Money!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Chef Sarape makes my favorite dish which is Aguachiles. It is spicy and yummy. They also make the best carnitas and carne asada. Great family run restaurant!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I expected good Mexican food and got canned chicken in my enchiladas. Salsa was also not home made. Prices are cheap but so is the food. You get what you pay for.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my mother and my sister. The food as always was excellent but the seats were a bit worn.

The chips are light and crispy with a good salsa.

I ordered a chili relleno with no rice, just retried beans. The beans are the classic creamy refried pintos that I love and they were excellent. The relleno was batter dipped and cheese stuffed. There was a choice of a poblano and a green chili. I went with the poblano. I very much enjoyed my relleno.

My sister had a carnitas enchilada, which she thought was good but found the sauce slightly disappointing.

I go there every time I visit my mother. It is one of the few good restaurants in Lake Isabella.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank DeborahHockenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Serape also viewed

Lake Isabella, CA
Lake Isabella, CA
 
Lake Isabella, CA
 

Been to Chef Serape? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing