We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb massage and relaxation at the Spa”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I decided to treat myself to a head to toe massage at the Aqua Terra Spa before starting my new job. I've had the pleasure of working at resort spas in the past, so I am very familiar with the level of service and treatments that are offered and the spa is in keeping with the boutique style of the hotel. I was greeted warmly by the front desk staff and I felt completely pampered and cozy with the lovely decor, open air courtyard where I could read a magazine under the sun and the intimate setting of the hot tub just off the ladies changing room. Delicious granola, fruit and nuts complemented my hot tea and the refreshing fruit infused water. There was a nice selection of magazines from which to read.. which made for enjoying the space even more. The Spa was not large like some bigger resorts but rather more intimate and refined.. great for an individual wanting to escape and enjoy a quiet and relaxing day. My service was performed by Katerina.. who I would highly recommend! She was very professional and knowledgeable and was able to help relieve the pressure from my sore neck.. little did I know that what I thought was neck pain from not sleeping correctly... was actually a tight muscle from my upper back. Thank you..thank you!!

Room Tip: Although I did not stay overnight.. I would highly recommend the Spa to anyone wanting to indulge in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NNB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,382 - 1,386 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

It doesn't get any closer to the beach than this. We stayed in the "tower" portion. Everything seemed fresh and updated. The room was large and the sliding glass doors opened up to the small balcony overlooking the water. My only complaint, which isn't really a complaint, is that the balcony only had room to stand. There were no chairs or table. I believe the "surfside" building may have a full balcony with chairs and table but call to ask if this is a concern for you.

We had dinner at the Splashes Bar instead of the restaurant. They had both a bar menu and full restaurant menu. We ordered from the bar menu and the food was spectacular. The drinks were strong and good. Get there early though as the bar was packed from around 5PM to around 9PM, then it slowed down a bit.

Room service breakfast was awesome. The food was great, and you can't beat eating eggs benedict overlooking the ocean. The price was reasonable as well.

I would definitely suggest this hotel over some of the others in the area. I won't name names but the other large upscale hotels in the area/on the beach can be a bit "stuffy" if you know what I mean. The Surf & Sand is completely opposite. The staff were so nice, friendly, and most important to me casual and laid back but very attentive at the same time. To me, that is true class.

This would be a great hotel to bring your kids and spend a few days relaxing. I can't really explain how relaxing it was to have the sliders open listening to the ocean. We will go back soon.

Room Tip: Room tip- If the ocean noise is a problem for you ask to stay on a higher floor. Once the sliders we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APDJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Ok if I didn't need a change of scenery once and awhile, I would stay at this hotel every time we go on vacation. The first time I stayed, I took advantage of a online special and stayed with my daughters around Christmas time. It's a tradition we go to Disneyland for my Birthday in December. Yes I know it's far but wanted to try it. Well let's just say it was really hard to leave and go to Disneyland once we checked in, walked into the room, was drawn to the sliding door (as you could hear the waves outside) and opened the door and looked out and below. All I can say is WOW, what a view!!! It was like the waves were going directly below our balcony!!! The room was so comfy and cozy, I really did not want to go anywhere else and just stay and bask in the ambiance!!!! It is a little expensive and would only book it if it was a special occasion or another online special. But I would do it in a heart beat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This place is perfect for a relaxing get away or even just a fun weekend trip! The staff is wonderful and so helpful, the ambiance is beautiful and so relaxing. The rooms are clean and beautiful views. The fire pits outside are a perfect spot for relaxing listening to the beach with a warm drink. French 77 is a great restaurant across the street. Everyone that works here is so nice and helpful! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danithegirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I drove 11 miles from Laguna Hills to stay overnight for a little R&R to a resort we had always wanted to stay at, but hadn't made the opportunity to do so. Surf and Sand was the perfect overnight getaway.

The full ocean view is spectacular. Just open the sliding glass door onto the balcony and the sounds of waves crashing and smell of the Pacific Ocean permeates the room. If that is not enough, the room itself is spectacular. The room has architectural features found in very expensive homes and the bed was very comfortable.

The staff is first class. The valet service welcomes you with smiles and helpfulness. The front desk staff is efficient. The bell staff is the final part of any welcome to a resort, and this bell staff should get an award. After our luggage was delivered the bellman offered us a bottle of champagne or wine with the compliments of the bell staff.

The outside lobby has a great bar and light meals.

It took us many years to finally stay here – it won’t take us many years to go back. If you want an Orange County on-the-beach resort, Surf and Sand is your best choice.

Room Tip: The main building may be your best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.9 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
818 reviews
0.1 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
483 reviews
1.1 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
870 reviews
2.3 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
359 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: ₹ 26,189 - ₹ 50,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing