We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot...”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a spot...”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Superb hotel. The location is outstanding - rooms right on the beach with the million dollar views. The staff was outstanding and friendly in every part of the hotel. Our room (#423) was a little worn but nothing too bad. The views are just fabulous. The main bar is small but nice. We did not eat in the restaurant (opting for room service each night) but the food was excellent.

The Surfside section of the hotel is a little more secluded and private and is located away from the pool area. I would recommend that part of the hotel.

The resort provides ear plugs because the crashing of the waves is pretty darn loud.

Room Tip: The Surfside building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    291
    136
    82
    63
See reviews for
420
740
42
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We come here every year to attend a business seminar. Everyone from valet, check in/out, housekeeping, food servers is attentive, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Each room comes with a patio that overlooks the ocean. Beds are comfy. I love walking up and down the beach. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Rooms in main tower have the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckcluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I needed a weekend respit from the kids. We've been to all the nice resorts within an hour of Los Angeles, but I was just tired of ending up at $1,000 for a one night stay. I had heard much about and driven by this medium sized beach side hotel and decided to take a shot . It's now our new favorite. Why? Simple, easy access and the closest hotel to the beach possible.

You open your room window, and all is you see and hear is crashing waves. I felt no need to leave the comfy bed. If it was cold, I could turn on the heat, and still enjoy the crashing waves. (If nature's sound machine gets tiresome, they provide ear plugs, but we didn't use them)

If you're expecting grandiose amenities, this is not your place. They have a very nice gym, very nice spa, TV with all the pay per view and games and such and great bed. But this is not a modern mega resort so don't expect world class. And frankly, that's what I liked.

Room Tip: We were in 344, which is on the same level as lobby, although not near, has a balcony overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have to say that is my favorite hotel. I have stayed here over 5 times. It is a small hotel that gives you a very personalized experience. We have only stayed in the Main tower where all the rooms face the ocean. The rooms are large, clean and very well laid out. The beds are very comfortable and sleeping to the sound of the waves crashing against the shore is heaven. I highly recommend it. The price is steep but worth it. The restaurant Splashes is small but the food is great. The ambiance of the whole place is great for couples. You are located near the center of Laguna Beach. I highly recommend eating at French 75 across the street or going to listen to live music at Mozambique down the street. If you want to be spoiled in style stay at the Surf & Sand

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a room that faces the ocean. All the rooms in the main tower face the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mekki_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It's not cheap, but well worth the price.How many hotels can you stay in where you are practically on the beach, and you get earplugs just in case you DON'T like the sound of the waves.(That's basically why we come here!!) Staff is extraordinarily courteous and responsive and Splashes restaurant, while again not cheap, is innovative and with a fantastic view..
This is a great place to chill/veg out ,etc. Only negative:the cell phone reception is nil in some of the rooms, so you could be carrying out your private conversations on the stairs!! (In fairness, though, there are many nooks inside and out where cell reception is good. Just not in some rooms...a small price to pay for paradise though

Room Tip: All rooms are virtually on the beach, so this is not much of a consideration here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfmaria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.9 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
746 reviews
0.1 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
424 reviews
1.1 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
744 reviews
2.3 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,438 - ₹ 55,912
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing