We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a basic stay, near beach”
Review of Laguna Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Beach Lodge
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for a basic stay, near beach”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Although the property is being upgraded, it seems that the upgrades are being cheaply done. However, I appreciated the newer, more soundproof windows and clean surfaces.

The room was well laid out. Although clean, the bathroom seemed patchworked and there was a void in the floor tile next to the toilet. Kind of creepy. The caulking around the tub was a sloppy, amateur job. C'mon, just do it right for a much better look.

I did appreciate the glass shelf above the vanity top, however. The bed was fairly comfortable and I appreciated the choice in pillows.

It was raining or my stay would have been much less quiet, since the rooms face the pool area and it is a small property. Not good if you want quiet. However, the beach is just across the boulevard so this would be a good deal for families or those who don't mind noise in exchange for beach access.

I would not stay here again because of the lack of an elevator and I don't like being on ground level.

That said, I had deviated from my practice of booking with the property and used hotels.com. I was told by them that the place did have an elevator. Wrong. (I will never book through them again and most likely will continue to book direct.)

The desk clerk understood my plight and although my room was still on the ground level, he placed me next to the office. He also told me that in their property's experience, booking agents will often tell prospective guests what they want to hear. My suggestion is book directly or call the property to confirm what the booking agent says before making your reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you want to sleep. Also, check out the room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDsigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    222
    118
    48
    40
See reviews for
195
180
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed there on a famliy vacation for a week and I mush say I was more than happy with my stay. The vieew was nice from the pool and the staff went above and beyond to my sure my stay was great. The entire staff was great but i got to say 2 members stand out. Dillon was fantatic and the young lady on the day shift was great too. Sorry i dont remember her name too. Room was very clean for the price range and i plan to stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you and thank you for staying with us!
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

An old, outdated motel style building with ageing furniture/fixtures in a shabby, dank room.
Of the eight hotels on our recent trip this was the only one to disappoint and subsequently the only negative review I’ve written in several years.

We appreciated that it’s got a good location fairly near to the beach, and that the nearby high-end hotels are much more expensive – but boy we didn’t expect it to be that bad.
The location is all that this property has going for it – we stayed at much nicer hotels for less money in the same week, so rates are inflated purely because of where it stands.

In the early 1990’s I would have accepted it, but these days the Travelodge has been outclassed by newer, modern budget inns such as Holiday Inn Express and Hilton Garden Inn.

The old CRT TV required me to move the heavy cabinet and rewire it in order to get the rooms DVD player to work! I got it going in the end by placing the player at an angle (the cable was too short to reach the outlet!) The small mall next door has a Redbox DVD rental machine so we decided to hunker down and watch movies for one night.

The reception/breakfast area has been newly decorated and breakfast was just fine, as were the polite staff. Oddly though, all the newspapers in there were out of date (a trend?).

We checked out a day early, gladly forgoing the following nights room charge just to move on. Later that day we checked into a Doubletree by Hilton which was considerably cheaper and considerably nicer!

Almost forgot to mention the beach! Yes, very nice beautiful beach and cliffs. Totally deserted on a winter weekday morning. Just us and the occasional dog walker.
A great beach break, very nearly ruined by an awful hotel. You have been warned!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We truly appologize that you did not enjoy your visit -

Travelodge Laguna Beach most often has the lowest rates in Laguna Beach, while we know that we are not the best or newest hotel in town we make up for it with our team and of course location. It is hard to find a hotel in Laguna Beach for less than 125 a night - especially one across the street from an amazing beach. We cannot compete with hotels in other cities.

We understand our hotel needs continued love, in the past year we have installed new carpet in all the guest rooms, updated the lobby, painted all the guest rooms and done some unseen work that older hotels like this require. In no way are we done of course - more improvements are on the way.

The most important thing for us is for guests like you to share your experiences so we can make the changes most important to our customers - so thank you. Please check back with us in the near future as we will continue to make improvements, we certainly hope that like many others, you will find our little hotel a great place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Good price for the location. Right across the street from the beach. You can hear the waves from your room. Secure gated courtyard. Room was large. Nice fridge and microwave. Cute bathroom with tiny shower. Great rainfall shower head, lots of hot water. Bed was really uncomfortable, like sleeping on concrete. Convenient Albertsons and drug store, along with a few eating places in the parking lot next store. Across PCH and down a million stairs is a LOVELY beach cove area - maintained by the fabulous Montage. I actually saw a couple of dolphins just off shore. Lovely place.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here while attending a nearby leadership conference, and found it to be completely comfortable. It was a little way out of Laguna Beach downtown, but across the street from the Montage (which had beach access and a nice lounge for cocktails), and next door to Albertsons (which had a Starbucks). Decent value for money. They had free wifi which was handy. The service was friendly, and I enjoyed the heated pool. The only downside was the leaking shower, and I would have like to have a bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you! Hope to see you in Laguna Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
2.4 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.3 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
5.5 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
5.5 km away
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
#15 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#20 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Lodge

Property: Laguna Beach Lodge
Address: 30806 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4222 (Formerly Travelodge Laguna Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,822 - ₹ 18,036
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning backdrop of Laguna Beach, a classic 1950s Southern California Motor Lodge is reborn as a comfortable boutique hotel.The Laguna Beach Lodge offers outstanding value: free parking, complimentary breakfast and attractive rates.Ideally situated and perfect for families, we capture the spirit of Laguna and make it all affordable, convenient, and fun.•A short walk to Treasure Island Beach.•Summertime trolley service from our front door to Laguna's village.•Free Wifi.•Bright, cheerful, and fresh Laguna Beach hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Reef Hotel
Laguna Reef Motel
Best Western Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing