We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in years..”
Review of Laguna Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Beach Lodge
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in years..”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

An old, outdated motel style building with ageing furniture/fixtures in a shabby, dank room.
Of the eight hotels on our recent trip this was the only one to disappoint and subsequently the only negative review I’ve written in several years.

We appreciated that it’s got a good location fairly near to the beach, and that the nearby high-end hotels are much more expensive – but boy we didn’t expect it to be that bad.
The location is all that this property has going for it – we stayed at much nicer hotels for less money in the same week, so rates are inflated purely because of where it stands.

In the early 1990’s I would have accepted it, but these days the Travelodge has been outclassed by newer, modern budget inns such as Holiday Inn Express and Hilton Garden Inn.

The old CRT TV required me to move the heavy cabinet and rewire it in order to get the rooms DVD player to work! I got it going in the end by placing the player at an angle (the cable was too short to reach the outlet!) The small mall next door has a Redbox DVD rental machine so we decided to hunker down and watch movies for one night.

The reception/breakfast area has been newly decorated and breakfast was just fine, as were the polite staff. Oddly though, all the newspapers in there were out of date (a trend?).

We checked out a day early, gladly forgoing the following nights room charge just to move on. Later that day we checked into a Doubletree by Hilton which was considerably cheaper and considerably nicer!

Almost forgot to mention the beach! Yes, very nice beautiful beach and cliffs. Totally deserted on a winter weekday morning. Just us and the occasional dog walker.
A great beach break, very nearly ruined by an awful hotel. You have been warned!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We truly appologize that you did not enjoy your visit -

Travelodge Laguna Beach most often has the lowest rates in Laguna Beach, while we know that we are not the best or newest hotel in town we make up for it with our team and of course location. It is hard to find a hotel in Laguna Beach for less than 125 a night - especially one across the street from an amazing beach. We cannot compete with hotels in other cities.

We understand our hotel needs continued love, in the past year we have installed new carpet in all the guest rooms, updated the lobby, painted all the guest rooms and done some unseen work that older hotels like this require. In no way are we done of course - more improvements are on the way.

The most important thing for us is for guests like you to share your experiences so we can make the changes most important to our customers - so thank you. Please check back with us in the near future as we will continue to make improvements, we certainly hope that like many others, you will find our little hotel a great place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    221
    118
    48
    40
See reviews for
194
180
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Good price for the location. Right across the street from the beach. You can hear the waves from your room. Secure gated courtyard. Room was large. Nice fridge and microwave. Cute bathroom with tiny shower. Great rainfall shower head, lots of hot water. Bed was really uncomfortable, like sleeping on concrete. Convenient Albertsons and drug store, along with a few eating places in the parking lot next store. Across PCH and down a million stairs is a LOVELY beach cove area - maintained by the fabulous Montage. I actually saw a couple of dolphins just off shore. Lovely place.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here while attending a nearby leadership conference, and found it to be completely comfortable. It was a little way out of Laguna Beach downtown, but across the street from the Montage (which had beach access and a nice lounge for cocktails), and next door to Albertsons (which had a Starbucks). Decent value for money. They had free wifi which was handy. The service was friendly, and I enjoyed the heated pool. The only downside was the leaking shower, and I would have like to have a bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you! Hope to see you in Laguna Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We'd spent the last week on the road touring California and just wanted a nice base for our last 3 nights by the sea.

Location is fantastic for the price. Beach over the road is stunning. Good choice of places to eat nearby, otherwise Laguna town is well worth the short drive. Also very convenient for Dana which is nice too.

Room was big and comfy. Shower was great. Swimming pool spot on.

Breakfast just a bit too basic to be perfect but not a great issue.

To be in such a lovely area for such a good price was a real bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for the kind words! We are working hard to make Travelodge the best value and experience in Laguna Beach!
Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Janice (FD) and Rudy (Maintenance) were very professional and helpful. They both attended to all our needs. The location and "vibe" were excellent. I will recommend this establishment to anyone headed towards Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
2.4 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.3 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
5.5 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
5.5 km away
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
#15 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#20 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Lodge

Property: Laguna Beach Lodge
Address: 30806 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4222 (Formerly Travelodge Laguna Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,777 - ₹ 18,016
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning backdrop of Laguna Beach, a classic 1950s Southern California Motor Lodge is reborn as a comfortable boutique hotel.The Laguna Beach Lodge offers outstanding value: free parking, complimentary breakfast and attractive rates.Ideally situated and perfect for families, we capture the spirit of Laguna and make it all affordable, convenient, and fun.•A short walk to Treasure Island Beach.•Summertime trolley service from our front door to Laguna's village.•Free Wifi.•Bright, cheerful, and fresh Laguna Beach hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Laguna Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Reef Hotel
Laguna Reef Motel
Best Western Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing