We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locations & food/drink options- bad guest room experience”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Positives: Cool building that is over 80 years old with great upgrades. Great location with nice staff. Yummy breakfast for hotel guests from 7:30am - 10am. Convenient beach access. Good roof-top bar. Standard room w/ bathroom is very small, but nicely updated.

Negatives: Nights are tough - There was no air conditioning and instead, a mobile swamp cooler on wheels that barely worked and leaks water all over the floor after running it for more than a couple hours. It was warm in our room most nights. We were forced to leave the windows open just to hear people drinking on the roof bar and the live music down stairs until 10pm. Then, as our room was open to the courtyard, we were woken up by people talking/ laughing eating breakfast at 7am down below. As the hotel is small and old, there isn't much privacy as everytihng is so cramped and the walls are thin. Our mini fridge was burning hot on the outside and barely worked on the inside - even though it was on the highest setting. There is carpet everywhere that was constantly damp with dirt and sand from the outside - which made lots of the areas smell not so pleasant. Some of our room's outlet's didn't work.

Parking: The parking lot was across the street from the hotel with a small sign you can't see unless they tell you to look for it. The parking was for compact parking only. We were driving a Camry and were physically not able to park in the spot we paid for more than once. No one was watching/ maintaining the parking lot (in which a ticket is required) over the weekend and we couldn't find parking there either.

Overall, nice looking hotel with nice staff and good drinks with food - but the customer experience and comfort of their stay was simply not thought through. If you are a night owl and don't plan on being in bed before 10pm - and are OK with humid rooms, this hotel would not be a problem for you. If you not, I would look elsewhere.

I would definitely check out their roof top bar - it has great mojitos and views.

Room Tip: Take out the carpet!: Nights are tough - There was no air conditioning and instead, a mobile swamp c...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for La Casa del Camino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

I fully expected to write a scathing review of this "place", the last day of our stay we met Matthew. He is beyond exceptional! A few minutes with this young man completely changed our opinion. I have stayed at the Montage, the Ritz, Casa Laguna, etc and each one of them is a thousand times nicer than the dilapidated Casa del Camino but NONE of them has customer service on point that this young man does.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly, there were much nicer rooms we found out as we were checking out
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MeandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for recognizing Matthew for his exceptional service. We apologize that we had fallen short, but are so thankful to have him on our team to turn it around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We come here for staycations. Love the funkiness of this old hotel and nearby attractions. We live in Newport Beach and this is our go to hotel for Laguna events. Did the Pagent of Masters for the first time, walked all the way to downtown, pubs and shopping there. So our Camino hotel room is quaint like a euro room. Euro buffett breakfast in a little patio was a great surprise. Staff are wonderful. Smiling and helpful. Ice running for us, charging my phone at the front desk. Rooftop cocktails with sunset is always amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and the moment we walked to the front desk we felt so welcomed by the friendly staff. Monica is a great employee she helped us out and got us all set up with our stay. She even set us up with a reservation on the Rooftop Lounge, it's a really cool hangout spot and the views are breathtaking. And to top it off she set us up with gourmet dessert delivered to our room as an anniversary gift! The room itself was very beautiful, we had the king bed and the design with all the real carved wood was amazing. Our favorite part was the breakfast buffet, the food was very delicious and healthy. Everything from eggs mixed with veggies, potatoes, bacon, sausage, fruit, oatmeal, french toast, pastries, coffee, tea, milk, and orange juice. Another jewel about La Case Del Camino is Cress Beach! Just a few steps to get there, it's very private and secluded. We definitely wish to visit again, and thanks again to Monica for going above and beyond to make this trip extra special for us!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Marcus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Great location, nice comfortable "surf" room. The staff is probably the best we have ever experienced. There is obviously a good culture here. The morning breakfast was way beyond our expectations. The rooftop deck provides great views and plenty of seating to enjoy the sunset over the ocean. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Robert F, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to make a difference. Knowing you will return is the biggest compliment we could receive, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.6 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
327 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,092 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: ₹ 12,527 - ₹ 21,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing