We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!!!!”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017

If I could leave a minus triple zero, I would

We went on line and made reservations here for 3 nights. Since the rooms are all different, we picked a larger room, one with a King Size bed. Then the nightmare began. We arrived and were told the room we had booked, wasn't available, what? In fact, there were no rooms with a King size bed. However, we were talked into a smaller room with a Queen, but according to the front desk individual, it was the same price, because it had a great Ocean view, ok so we took it. Big mistake!! We got to the room and that great Ocean view was out of the bathroom window! and out of a side window if you stuck your head out. The room was very hot, with no fan and a little portable room air conditioner. We opened the windows to get a little cool air in there.and turned on the air conditioner. We then went up to the rooftop bar where we found the drinks expensive and terrible, as was the lousy service. Hey, it's a popular rooftop bar, with a great view, they don't need good drinks or good service and they can ding you for whatever they want.

Ok, that out of the way, we went back to the room a little later and the temperature in the room was absolutely stifling. We discovered the air conditioner hot air exhaust hose that was behind the curtains was literally broken in half, but someone had tried to reattach it with painters tape, which was useless Couldn't even use duct tape? I guess a new three foot hose would have been way too expensive for this fly-by-night- operation, but the profit from one drink would have covered it. The hot exhaust air was and had been venting right into the room.

I immediately called the front desk and told her the situation. She said she would immediately have the manager come up. Fifteen minutes later, he had not shown up. We packed up, I was dripping in sweat when we went down to the front desk and she was standing there laughing with some guy. I was beyond furious and demanded she get the manager NOW! She pointed to the guy she was laughing with and said there he is. I went ballistic screaming at the jerk. I Asked him why he couldn't be bothered to come to our room. He just mumbled nothing intelligent sounding. Needless to say we checked out, One thing that was absolutely amazing, neither one of them ever apologized.

We then found a great hotel just down the street and had a very good time

Room Tip: Why? apparently you don't get the room you reserve
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. I would love to have an opportunity to address this personally, as this is not our typical guest experience. We pride ourselves on our service and ability to resolve our guest's concerns, I hope we will have another chance to get it right with you as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for La Casa del Camino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Classic old hotel but up to date where it counts. Loved the ready access to the beach. The bar on the roof is fantastic. Perfect location. The breakfast was very high quality and in a cute courtyard. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richtrubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for choosing La Casa for your weekend getaway. We appreciate the wonderful review and look forward to your next visit, richtrubey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We ventured into Laguna Beach solely as a stopover on our way to Catalina ...we stayed 3 days and cant wait to go back one day !!!
The wonderful staff at this charming boutique hotel certainly played a huge role in our falling in love with this area.
We stayed in the Roxy room , gorgeous !

From the moment you walk in you are greeted to a terrificly fun lobby with local music , a fireplace and great bar area. We had a fantastic dinner at the K'ya restaurant (on property) would highly recommend !
Take time to read about the unusual and quirky history of the hotel , youll love it even more ❤

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wbcba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

We love love love your review! Thank you so much for making us a part of your visit to Laguna, learning about the hotel and enjoying our history. I will definitely thank our staff for helping to make your experience special! We also agree that K'ya is a must!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The hotel staff was extremely kind and helpful. Because we had a dog, our room was on the first floor which was great for easy entry and exit. The room was absolutely lovely and charming. Just a few steps away from the beach access and you can borrow chairs and umbrellas.

As a bonus, the rooftop bar has stunning views and the downstairs restaurant is delish! We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreAndGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you PierreAndGinger! We absolutely love hosting our guests and furry, four-legged children in the hotel as well as Rooftop and K'ya, we are very pet-friendly. So happy to give you a 5 star experience and look forward to doing it again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Great boutique spot, with fabulous team. The restaurant and roof top bar are wonderful. The menu at the restaurants has small plates with great tastes to full dinner. The breakfast included is full eggs to fruit and array is nice. The attitude of the team is to make us have a great stay.
Plus a half block walk to beach.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzzrmcnabbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.6 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
327 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,092 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: ₹ 12,592 - ₹ 21,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing