We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older hotel showing its age”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2016

The staff who welcomed us when we arrived late at night were friendly and tried to be helpful, but the king bed room we had booked had been downgraded to a queen and the television didn't work and couldn't be repaired until the following day. The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the carpet in the hallway was fraying and looked tired. The sound insulation was not ideal as we could hear the plumbing in the room above early in the morning.The breakfast was adequate but the breakfast room was a bit tiny and grim. It was better on the second morning when the little enclosed courtyard was open and we could sit outside.

Although we did not eat there, there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that is apparently very popular and it was hopping on Saturday night. And there is a roof top bar with views out over the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2016

So this is my first review ever, and I am so glad that this place gets it. While it is an older hotel (no real AC, window ventilation, etc.) that doesn't mean that they should be overlooked. On PCH right by the beach, they have a small cove that is a two minute walk from the hotel, and they have rentals for chairs, towels, and umbrellas. While the cove isn't really meant for surfing or for swimming (rocky) it is still incredible nice to go and sit out by the water. The staff there are incredibly helpful and were extremely accomodating and looking to get you the best experience. For a $14 resort fee, we got a small breakfast (person there looking to only help you, which made the breakfast nice), parking (which is worth its weight in gold in Laguna) and all the rentals and everything. The room we stayed in wasn't too big, but it came with a fridge, safe, and the bathroom was very nice.

Onto the rooftop bar, which is absolutely incredible. If you aren't staying in the hotel, go to the bar because at sunset you have one of the best views of the ocean that I have ever seen (I grew up in OC). The drinks are great, their famous sangria is famous for a reason, and everything seemed nicer.

Only about a 15 minute walk from main beach, about a 3 minute uber, this place has a great location on top of a fantastic service that left my girlfriend and I very happy.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zjtud1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

pros...rooftop restaurant...with host/bartender pete...amazing happy "hour" downstairs bar...finally the suites designed by local companies founders...ie...quicksilver...roxy...etc...cons...90% staff lack of hospitality

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank crosbynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. For starters, the Experience Coordinator Lauren is the most valuable person at this hotel. She made me feel welcome by emailing me days before I arrived, and stayed in contact throughout and after my visit. She is amazing and I am grateful for having her as a connection for future visits.

Yes, it is an older hotel, filled with charm, quirks, elegance and fun. This is a low key party hotel. There's a party in the lobby, there's a party on the roof. The amazing, breathtaking expansive view from the rooftop lounge is unparalleled. The live music and charming friendly locals in the lobby bar next to the fireplace are wonderful. The all included buffet breakfast with scrambled eggs, French toast, bacon and sausage, oatmeal, muffins and croissant and bagels, orange juice and coffee is wonderful. It's a good walk to downtown, but oh so enjoyable. Take a cab if you're in heels.

Thank you La Casa Del Camino for a wonderful stay! You made my weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BeachMama43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We just spent two nights at this solid choice loaded with personality. Sunshine, the very professional and pleasant girl at the front desk started our visit off great by assigning us to a very nice King room on the first floor. The hotel is a bit old, and has wood floors, so you will hear noises above and around you. Bring earplugs! Other than a bit of noise, our stay was just awesome. We enjoyed the wonderful Rooftop bar 's Happy Hour, where you can get a good glass of wine for $5. The sunsets are spectacular. The breakfast each morning is awesome! The hotel will bring chairs and towels down to the tiny, very private beach just steps from the hotel. Parking is free and just a short, 3 minute walk away. We couldn't ask for more! We'll be back in the area soon and will stay again here.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardinMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
508 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.6 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
383 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,124 reviews
3.3 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: ₹ 10,019 - ₹ 21,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing