We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Eva's Caribbean Kitchen
Ranked #56 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Piermont, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Eva's kitchen has a laid back Caribbean vibe and great food to match. The space is small and homey....has an authentic Caribbean look and feel...with relevant music to compete the setting.

I love carrot cake so I was amazed they had it on the menu since most dishes were legit Carribean flavors....maybe carrot cake was invented in Guyana or Jamaica...lol.

Anyway, we had lots of appys and by the time entrees showed up, we were almost full. Then we couldn't pass up dessert. Eva orders gourmet ice cream from Columbus Ohio...it's shipped in dry ice....how many places would do that in their passion to serve quality?...I dare say not many.

I almost forgot to mention the rum selection.....mind boggling would be accurate. Mojitos and Caribbean food...a match madevin culinary heaven. And they were served with lots of fresh mint....Perfect!

So we love Eva's Caribbean Kitchen...in a town full of so many great choices, it's a standout dining destination.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMan927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

What an amazing find in Laguna Beach! We started off with Eva's Callaloo soup and crab cakes, and enjoyed every mouth watering bite. The soup was richly flavored with a complex mix of spices which came together like magic and the crab cakes with mango salsa were just as delightful. We followed our appetizers with a sea bass and panamanian grouper entree which came with sides of rice and peas and vegetable sides. The portion size was amazing, the fish some of the freshest and tastiest we've had, and the vegetables were crispy, fresh and delicious! We topped off our meal with the best carrot cake we have had the pleasure of devouring, and we are carrot cake connoisseurs, and a delightful salted caramel ice cream. We enjoyed our entire Carribean dining experience and look forward to going back soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I had eaten at this restaurant once before and had a delicious jerk chicken. This time (joining friends there on my recommendation), the service was terrible, the food was not only very late in arriving, it was BURNT, the conch was rubbery... it was all terrible...including the bill. I will NEVER go back there again, and I urge all of you to strongly consider a different choice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Eva's: Terriffic, quaint location. Cheerful ambience”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

- Really enjoyed Eva's in south Laguna Beach right on PCH.
- Clearly a lot of locals there who frequent the place regularly, all of whom receive a warm welcome upon entering.
- Particularly enjoyed the Jerk Salmon and Curry Snapper. Prices were a little high, but so was the quality.
- Spice use was subte for my taste but that may be to appeal to the local clientele.
- Service was exceptional
- It is quite small, maybe a dozen tables in all (which is part of its appeal). Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible food in a quaint location!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I recently moved to the area and just ate here for dinner the other night. I was warmly greeted by the owner and she recommended the jerk salmon for the evening. There were so many delicious items on the menu.. I just couldn't decide! I took her advice and ordered the salmon. Let me just say this was the absolute best dish I have had in a long time. The portion was huge (took home half) and the sides were perfectly julienned vegetables with rice and a plantain. yummy! I went to culinary school.. but still love to eat out.. and I will definitely be back.. with friends! Thank you for your great food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NNB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eva's Caribbean Kitchen also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Eva's Caribbean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing