We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bar staff; terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I'll get the one negative out of the way. Our room was horrible! It was dark and so small and cramped! I was very disappointed, as we have stayed in many Embassy hotels and this room did not meet my expectations. It was so small, that each of the two queen beds had less than 1 foot between it and the wall! Makes getting out of bed for the person next to the wall quite a challenge!

Now the good stuff. It is in a great location and the hotel itself is beautiful. The bar staff in the evening is wonderful. They were so much fun! Sean and Kendra (I hope I am remembering her name correctly because she was a great bartender and worked non stop to serve all the guests).

The breakfasts were awesome! In fact the ladies who cleared the tables in the morning were also very sweet and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't get one in the hallway. I think nicer/bigger rooms were $30 more per night. Nice, if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamminsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,041 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

We love the location of this hotel. The managers reception is fun with 2 free drinks, and the free breakfast is generous. The room are spacious and comfortable. There is a big horse show in Thermal every year and this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaileyHorse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a 2-room suite with patio. Our room was clean with plenty of space. The bed, for me, was too firm. The two main drawbacks with this hotel are that they have nonsmoking rooms next to the smoking rooms, which doesn't make any sense, since smoke will find its way out through vents, cracks and doorways. One night we definitely had smoke coming in from our neighbor. The hotel also charges extra for internet access which seems almost wrong to me. The hotel overall is in good condition with better than average amenities. The main reason we chose this hotel over Homewood Suites was the better location. Being able to walk just across the street to Old Town was very convenient. And if you don't want to pay for internet access, you can use the wifi at the Old Town Coffee Co. or the library just down the street. It's also close to several hiking trails. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NomadicBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here while we were at a three-day golf school. The property is the old Spanish style and directly across the street from the La Quinta "Old Town". It was very quiet, clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the Happy Hour with fresh veggies, dips, chips, munchies and free drinks (except if you order a brand name then they are $9.0!). The breakfast was included and was super extensive offering fresh fruit, yogurts, special orders of omlettes, pancakes, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, Mexican eggs, large assortment of muffins, bagels, toast, and different juices. You cannot walk away hungry. They also have a nice dinner menu and room service. We had the salmon one night which was quite good and also the Pasta Alfredo which was delicious. There was a workout room which we did not use but looked to be complete and there is also the Hibiscus Spa which we did not use.

We like the spacious rooms, large enough counter space in the bathroom to put everything and it was quiet (except one night we did hear the next door neighbor's TV and his very loud voice). Overall, we would return when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Quiet rooms, good manager sponsored Happy Hour each evening (try the Pomegranate Margarita) and extensive complimentary breakfast which includes omelets cooked to order. Hot tubs are rather small and not terribly warm but good jets. Used the spa for a therapeutic massage one morning and they were very accommodating on short notice; nice facility. My masseuse, Constantine, was wonderful and took special care to help relieve my head, neck and shoulder pain. I have never gotten rid of a migraine that fast! Very close to many golf courses but quite a drive to the unique local shopping other than the usual chain stores. The Old Town Village has a few shops including Tarah Jade which has wonderful mens and womens resort type clothing, hats, jewelry and we found some fun gifts. Lulu's has interesting home accents. But for serious shopping head to Palm Desert or Palm Springs. There are restaurants and grocery shopping within walking distance. But for shopping and golf, having a car is a must.

Room Tip: We were in 218 & 246 and both rooms were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
4.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
2.8 km away
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
11.4 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.2 km away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa

Address: 50777 Santa Rosa Plz, La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92253-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range: ₹ 7,848 - ₹ 23,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel And Spa
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing