We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

No, we were not greeted as priority club members. Don't think they cared.

No, there was not much parking. We were lucky to squeeze into a space in their dark parking lot. It didn't seem like they were at full occupancy.

No, we were not told how to get to our room (which turned out to be confusing in the dark, outside with no clear signs.) We requested an inside room but weren't given one & wasn't told that our room was outside.

No, the room was not clean. The floors were extremely sticky & my white socks (which kept sticking to the carpet) turned so black I had to throw it away. Plus, the base of the shower had mold under the sealants. Not sure it's sealed.

No, the floor plan was not great. The light for the vanity area shines straight at the beds with no door in between. So, when I woke up at 6am for my conference both my husband & son had to wake up because there was no way to block the lights. I didn't use the restroom in the middle of the night for that same reason.

No, the breakfast was not good. We stay at many HIE throughout the country. This was the worst. We had to find food elsewhere.

No, the front desk person did not care. When my husband told them that the floors were dirty, she asked "Why? Did you spill?"

We changed our hotel at the last minute (paid at least $50 more) to stay at this hotel, first for the HIE brand and second for the convenience of being near my conference so the boys could sleep in. What a horrible mistake. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NongNoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for the review regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I care greatly about the service and product we provide and would really appreciate the opportunity to learn more regarding your experience. Please contact me when you have a few minutes.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
858-454-7101
lclark@pacificahost.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
104
90
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

How can you complain when you happen to be in La Jolla in December and it's a balmy 79 degrees? This hotel is little older and has been redone, my room was really large with a little kitchen that was convenient. The bathroom was redone with great shower, no shower/tub combo with the yucky shower curtain. Free breakfast, free wi fi and free parking are a plus for this area. The beach (La Jolla Strand Beach Park) is about a block away is absolutely beautiful, it's walking distance from the hotel and in the summer you won't find parking so walk it. The hotel has some ocean views from the 3rd floor. They were having some issues with the room key system when I was there but resolved it quite quickly. Overall charming property and La Jolla is lovely!

Room Tip: I like the top floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard by Marriott-Simi Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Loved the several little Courtyards around the property. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Really nice updated bathrooms. Great Mexican Restaurant across the street, too.

Room Tip: Lower floor has less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvler3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was for work and only reason I was staying here because my preferred hotel was full and this was a last minute trip. I think because of this, my expectations were completely skewed. But arriving at night, the place was all dark and felt like a motel 6. My room was next to the soda machine and parking lot on the first floor, so probably the worst combination. The door seemed to completely unable to block any noise from the outside. There doesn't seem to be any attention to details in the room and had lots of rough edges. Trying to get work done with the real flaky wi-fi didn't win any points with me either. The heater was so loud and the turning off and on trying to maintain the room temperature made sleeping difficult. The breakfast the next morning made me feel sorry for myself and the other sad business people who were there, relegated to eating the very plain, limited and uncreative food items.

There were couple of pros - the location was a great location, around the main area of La Jolla downtown, and close to the water. Secondly, the bathroom was nicely done with nice shower.

Room Tip: Don't be next to the ice machine or parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Had a nice - if rather dark - room, by the pool for our most recent stay. Good layout of room and excellent shower. Staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare. Staff were very keen to close breakfast room on the dot of 9.30 am, despite the hotel being a holiday destination, and started closing down long before that. We had a few minor problems - some lights not working for example - but these were quickly resolved. Also, problems with wi-fi - again, but these were also eventually resolved. Overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool tend to be the quietest and largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
837 reviews
2.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
795 reviews
6.6 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
6.2 km away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,743 - ₹ 21,874
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing