We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
738
322
62
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
322
62
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manhattan restaurant valet parking piano bar spa suite continental breakfast within walking distance boiled eggs street parking small hotel yogurt shops and restaurants heart of la jolla perfect location front desk staff starbucks coffee short walk to the beach nice room
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

I chose this hotel based on the recommendation of Fay's Needlenook in La Jolla, a needlepoint store I go to regularly. The hotel is clean and bright. Lights are very important to me in the rooms and this room had more than enough lights. The bathroom was well appointed with a robe and slippers. The towels were AMAZING, soft and fluffy, unlike a lot of hotel towels that have been bleached to scratchy threads. The bed was heavenly with plenty of pillows. There was a couch and a chair with an ottoman. A fridge and microwave are in the closet. They serve breakfast on the second floor which was appreciated and had good choices including fresh waffles. The turn down service includes chocolates on the pillow. Cookies are baked and available in the lobby as are apples. The location is just a couple of blocks from the beach.

Two issues that aren't deal breakers but could be nice improvements: one, please go green. Don't take towels that are hanging and let guests decline housekeeping. It's overkill. Two, have some suggested running routes. Runners love it when they have a hotel hand them some ideas of places to go and distances. Sure, we can figure it out on our own but it's wonderful if someone takes the time and just tells you some ideas.

Only issue with my room was you couldn't put the AC on high because they vent rattled so badly you had to constantly get up and hit the grate to make it stop.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALLSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear ALLSLC,

We are happy that you chose the Empress Hotel based on the recommendations of Needlenook when is located o down the street from our hotel. I am glad that you liked your room and the amenities that we provide. our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. We are glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thanks for staying with us!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

What an Awesome place! Affordable and centrally located within the village of LaJolla. Completely recommend! Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Great customer service and friendly laid back atmosphere. Continental breakfast was included which was perfect.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shoerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear shoerster,

Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. We are happy that you feel that we are an awesome hotel and I would like to thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. I appreciate your mention of the customer service that you received as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while in town for a wedding. It is a block from where the reception was held and a few blocks from the beach. The hotel was clean and well appointed. The friendly staff greeted us with warm cookies and were able to get us an early check-in so we could get ready for the wedding. The bed was clean and comfy and the bathroom was nicely decorated. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast as we had to get to the airport early. I wish we could’ve stayed longer!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WakeboardMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear WakeboardMomma,

We appreciate your recent stay with us to attend a wedding. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. Please come back and stay with us when you can stay longer. Thank you for staying with us!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Have stayed here twice recently and love everything about the hotel. On our first night, there was a bit too much street noise and a squeaky flagpole. The staff was very happy to move us to a new room. I'd go for the king bed as the rooms are much larger. The breakfast is continental but very satisfactory. The staff is so friendly!

Room Tip: Get a king, not on the street side.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5TravlingMcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear 5TravlingMcs,

We are happy that you love everything about the Empress Hotel. I am glad that you like our room and the amenities that we provide. I appreciate your mention of our associates. Thanks for staying with us!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Don’t advertise dog friendly if you are not. No where for dogs to pee and poop. No dog bags and hotel is on a Main Street with tons of people around who are not very dog friendly or tolerant. Also no parking at facility and valet parking is 28.00 a day! The on-site restaurant was poor, food was undercooked, under seasoned and over priced. Bad experience and would not go back or recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank onesteveconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear onesteveconnor,

We offer pet amenities such as a water/food bowl, treats, doggie beds, and doggie waste bags upon request at our Front Desk Reception. In addition, Ellen Browning Scripps Park is just down the street from our hotel which is a perfect park for pets to run and play with other dogs.
We offer underground secure parking with as many in and out privileges as one may need per day. There is also street parking available but the hours are limited and one needs to be cognizant of this.
The Manhattan Restaurant is a local favorite. I would like to speak to you about your dining experience and your stay with us should you like to contact me.
Thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews