We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel except for parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel except for parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stay this hotel on 10th April, 2012.

Very clean and comfortable room and bath. I had a room with view of sea at 4th floor.

The reception is warm and friend. And the reception guy, Ben, took Tripadvisor comments highly. He want us to say something good here. I think it's good if every hotel do their work better to encourage customers to give them good comments in Tripadvisor.

The breakfast room is small and the food is OK.

But the valet parking charged us 18 $. And I found there's self parking at 5 $ nearby, just 100 meter along the street. Anyway, parking is a problem is La Jolla area.

Room Tip: Room on 4th floor can have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank and7673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    260
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
192
322
45
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I recently spent a few relaxing days at the Empress while on vacation. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer. They were friendly, courteous and had excellent suggestions on places to eat and to visit.The room was clean, quiet and had a bit of an ocean view. The hotel itself was conveniently located to both the beach and the village.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimmom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Empress is right in the center of La Jolla, walking distance to all the attractions, beach, shopping and wonderful restaurants. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The public spaces of the hotel are beautifully maintained and I always appreciate a complimentary continental breakfast. Staff was invariably courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Loved our room - very comfortable furnishings. Booked on the top floor, we could even see the ocean from our window. The staff was friendly and helpful - Jason and Nick were funny and considerate - I felt very welcome there. We ended up extending our stay by a day and they were extremely accommodating. Location-wise, this hotel was just a couple of blocks from the ocean, shopping, and night life. We had a fantastic stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We planned a one night stay in San Diego with sailing the next day. I bid on the hotel via one of those sites and asked for a 3 star hotel, midweek for $75.00. I have done this in the past, and typically got the Dana Inn, or a nice Hilton. I won the hotel, which was advertised to be a room with either two beds or one bed and a sofa sleeper. Once I won the bid, i called them to verify my arrangements. I was then informed that my $91.00 room with tax, would cost another $40.00 to come with an extra bed for the kids. The hotel rooms they sold for this promotion, only had one queen bed in them. I have never been in a hotel with one queen bed. Now that we are up to $131.00, I think it must be okay. We arrive, and find no parking and must now pay $18.00 for valet. We get to our room, and it is a joke.

The room is about the size of a cheap motel room. Like motels, it does not have a bath tub, but does have a shower, which is pretty nice. The counter space in the bathroom is nonexistent. The bathroom door is a sliding door contraption, (not even a pocket door), it is a barn door. The room AC unit sounded like it was going to explode, when I shook the thermostat to get it working. Now the dangerous part... I use a CPAP machine and was looking for an electric outlet. The cords for the lamps ran behind the headboard. I pulled it back to find both cords running into one of those dollar store white extension cords. The connection was dirty, covered in dust and webs. Finally, the flat screen TV did not have movie channel access for on demand. I was incredulous and called the desk. I was informed that they "were working on it", but there was two cable movie channels. Neither of which were working.

The elevator in this hotel took forever. The service was mid level and the place is a disguised dump. The lack of basic amenities should reduce it to a two-star rating at best. It was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davisfamilyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,005 - ₹ 20,063
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing