We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A million Dollar View!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A million Dollar View!!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Amazing experience, the deluxe room was so clean and spacious, even had a full kitchen (stove, microwave, big refrigerator, all dishes. HUGE 5 closets in the hallway, a sofa bed and did I mentioned the VIEW?? the amazing view!!. All I wanted to do is sit on that balcony and take all in...Amazing!! ...We will return...WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Oh..They placed fresh yummy cookies as a welcome, and they have those same yummy cookies everyday from 10-9 pm at the cafe (the breakfast area) for FREE with complimentary coffee or tea, and the VIEW!!...It was so convenience the provided parking garage and parking spaces inside the property also for FREE.

The only thing I can say is that at the breakfast buffet "I wish they had yogurt or some kind of protein" for those of us who are on a gluten free diet, and dry non-dairy products for the coffee.

The decor is dated...but WHO CARES!! with that view you hardly notice, and they were very confortable. Perfect for a big family who likes to cook

Room Tip: You have to ask for your extra needs...like if you need more coffee or shampoo or towels they’ll bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mechy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (as well as the cookies)! Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. We wanted to inform you that we are currently undergoing an extensive remodel of our suites so upon your return you will be able to enjoy the updated suite and décor along with the million dollar view. We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to you returning to your home away from home here at La Jolla Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    334
    157
    109
    112
See reviews for
380
345
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the La Jolla Cove Suites just for one evening April 19. I had read the reviews from previous guests and decided to give it a try. We were looking for a great affordable place to stay in La Jolla, downtown with an ocean view. I had checked rates prior to our stay, but had not booked the room. We are a gay couple from Palm Springs and just wanted an overnight, beach getaway. We spent the day at the beach and decided to check out the hotel and availability. What a pleasant surprise it was. We were greeted by Bianca and Erica, what great personality, service, and accomodating to our ocean view requst of rooms. The room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the park and the ocean, great balcony, for a nice bottle of champagne! We took advantage of the hot tob, complimentary breakfast (even waffles) and I went to the gym, which was all included! The room was clean, had a kitchenette, and comfortable. We are both pleased that we have found a nice getaway to a great hotel with ocean views that is affordable. We look forward to a repeat visit within a couple of months, whenever we can get away. Thanks again to Bianca and Erika!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ for an ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MichaelbPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Shift Supervisor at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you both and I was very pleased that I was able to assist you with your room accommodations for your night away from home. I’m delighted that the beautiful ocean view from your balcony along with the bottle of champagne made your overnight beach getaway even better. You both were so very sweet and gracious and it is serving guests such as yourself that makes me love coming into work every day. It was an honor having you stay with us and I am looking forward to having you return as I would love to thank you in person for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenport, ia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotels' decor has clearly not been updated for some time, but we stayed there for a week and it became home. The staff was well-informed and full of good advice, the place was continually patrolled by cleaners, we were within walking distance of great food and interesting shopping, and the view was really too good to be true. We stayed in the cabins in the back of the main building, so it felt like our own private place. Parking was easy and access to the interstate was quick. The kitchen came in handy and with a little more planning, we could have grilled some fresh seafood from the nearby markets on the grills by the pool. The temperatures never made it above 63 while we were there, so we ran the heater when we were in the room during the evening and were still be able to keep the patio doors open. Until the seagulls perched on the patio handrail, that is. Big birds, they are. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scott216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Scott216,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of our hotel!! It was so nice to hear that you felt so at home and that your room up on our terrace provided you with the amazing views as well as proximity to shopping and restaurants. I hope on your next visit you will be able to take advantage of our BBQ court and try some of our delicious fresh local seafood on the grill! Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we are looking forward to your next visit to La Jolla Cove Suites!



Kimburley VanHaaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a great find on a great hotel. Big room, great view, great price! easy walking to everything. NICE STAFF. Really very happy to find this place I WILL return, I WILL tell my friends. The more spendy fancy digs are behind us for the most part,and must walk up and down a hill to get to the beach, not us we are off the main street on the quiet park.easy parking too. Older? yes but who cares when you have a million dollar location :) Happy girl

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CuttingLooseAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Cutting Loose Again,

We were so happy to read your enthusiastic review of our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to mention our “NICE STAFF” and beautiful location and also for spreading the word to your friends and family we are so pleased that your stay with us was so memorable! We are looking forward to your next visit to La Jolla Cove Suites!

Kimburley VanHaaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is an older hotel but it is well ran and clean. The staff is friendly and available. I particularly liked that I could park my own car and didn't have to use a bellhop. The location is great with fantastic views and restaurants nearby. The building is constructed of block so noise from other guests is minimal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Shift Supervisor at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
The staff here at La Jolla Cove Suites would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. For every guest that stays at our hotel we put forth our best effort to make their stay as wonderful and pleasant as possible. Yes, our location is great with being a short walk away from the downtown La Jolla area and over 40 different restaurants and shopping boutiques as well as being directly in front of the beautiful La Jolla Cove. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
946 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,436 - ₹ 24,779
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing