We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I Wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
davenport, ia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything I Wanted”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotels' decor has clearly not been updated for some time, but we stayed there for a week and it became home. The staff was well-informed and full of good advice, the place was continually patrolled by cleaners, we were within walking distance of great food and interesting shopping, and the view was really too good to be true. We stayed in the cabins in the back of the main building, so it felt like our own private place. Parking was easy and access to the interstate was quick. The kitchen came in handy and with a little more planning, we could have grilled some fresh seafood from the nearby markets on the grills by the pool. The temperatures never made it above 63 while we were there, so we ran the heater when we were in the room during the evening and were still be able to keep the patio doors open. Until the seagulls perched on the patio handrail, that is. Big birds, they are. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scott216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Scott216,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of our hotel!! It was so nice to hear that you felt so at home and that your room up on our terrace provided you with the amazing views as well as proximity to shopping and restaurants. I hope on your next visit you will be able to take advantage of our BBQ court and try some of our delicious fresh local seafood on the grill! Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we are looking forward to your next visit to La Jolla Cove Suites!



Kimburley VanHaaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    328
    151
    107
    110
See reviews for
370
339
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a great find on a great hotel. Big room, great view, great price! easy walking to everything. NICE STAFF. Really very happy to find this place I WILL return, I WILL tell my friends. The more spendy fancy digs are behind us for the most part,and must walk up and down a hill to get to the beach, not us we are off the main street on the quiet park.easy parking too. Older? yes but who cares when you have a million dollar location :) Happy girl

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CuttingLooseAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Cutting Loose Again,

We were so happy to read your enthusiastic review of our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to mention our “NICE STAFF” and beautiful location and also for spreading the word to your friends and family we are so pleased that your stay with us was so memorable! We are looking forward to your next visit to La Jolla Cove Suites!

Kimburley VanHaaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is an older hotel but it is well ran and clean. The staff is friendly and available. I particularly liked that I could park my own car and didn't have to use a bellhop. The location is great with fantastic views and restaurants nearby. The building is constructed of block so noise from other guests is minimal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Shift Supervisor at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
The staff here at La Jolla Cove Suites would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. For every guest that stays at our hotel we put forth our best effort to make their stay as wonderful and pleasant as possible. Yes, our location is great with being a short walk away from the downtown La Jolla area and over 40 different restaurants and shopping boutiques as well as being directly in front of the beautiful La Jolla Cove. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I had an ocean view room with balcony on March 31, 2012 for well under $175. The view is remarkable and the location is superb. I doubt there is a better-located ocean view hotel in the area for this price.

The main building was probably built in the 1950's and reflects the smaller bathrooms of that era. The place is very well maintained: recent paint in the stairwells; updated bedspreads, lighting fixtures and furniture. The tiny kitchen was nicely outfitted. The entire property was clean.

What we liked:
+ staff was polite and professional.
+ they allowed us to keep our car onsite for several hours after we checked out (reasonable, considering the $15 daily parking fee). We appreciated this because the La Jolla Concours 'd Elegance, happening in the park across the street, tied up a lot of the area's parking.
+ breakfast included made-to-order waffles.
+ fresh cookies at check in.
+ space heater kept room toasty.

Minor drawback:
+ bed could have been more comfortable, but was not bad.

Room Tip: Only selected buildings have wi-fi. A set of well-lighted, public stairs alongside the property is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HvLuggageWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca H, Shift Supervisor at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
On behalf of everyone here at La Jolla Cove Suites, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. It was an honor having you here and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our made-to-order waffles which is a new item added to our daily complimentary continental breakfast. We are delighted to hear that our goal of providing exemplary 5 Star Customer Service to our guests was met. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Can't beat the location -- right across from one of the most spectacular waterfronts in the world!! Seals are on the beach and you can walk up pretty close to them. Make sure you take a walk to the Cave Shop and take the dirt path up hill -- awesome! First I was by myself in a tiny hotel room - adequate except TV reception was bad and there was no heat. They gave me a space heater that blew a fuse. Again, location, location, location. Then my business associate came and we moved to a 2 bedroom suite with two balconies (and while we didn't spend the extra money for ocean view, we could actually see the ocean from the balconies). Adequate enough, however, no TVs in bedrooms (but reception was ok in living room). Again, unable to regulate the room temp -- this time it was very hot -- we just opened the balcony door. Breakfast is included, and it was quite a treat on the rooftop overlooking La Jolla Cove. I didn't feel we missed out by not having a waterfront unit -- we just sat on the rooftop patio in the evening. Out of the many places I have stayed in the San Diego area, this has instantly become my favorite. There is plenty of over night free street parking, however, parking is impossible during the day into early evening. Friendliest staff I have come across in a long time. And it was surprising affordable this time of year.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the "main building".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Sheli L,

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that from our hotel you were able to enjoy the beauty and wonders La Jolla Cove has to offer. We appreciate the feedback regarding your room accommodations we are always happy to hear ways in which we can improve the quality of our guests experience.

Again thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kimburley VanHaaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
0.3 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
0.4 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#12 of 24 in La Jolla
978 reviews
5.0 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,012 reviews
0.6 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,401 - ₹ 23,902
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing