We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family activity for teenagers ”
Review of La Jolla Kayak

La Jolla Kayak
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 50.00*
and up
San Diego Guided Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Jolla Kayak is a family run business celebrating more than 18 years as the premier ocean exploration outfit in San Diego. Offering fantastic opportunities for adventure on the open sea, La Jolla Kayak caters to tourists and locals alike. Discover by paddle or snorkel the spectacular sea cliffs, Seven Caves and underwater park, renowned to the area. La Jolla Kayak offers guided paddle and snorkel tours with specialized instructors and single or double kayak rentals to discover the sea on your own. Our Mt. Soledad Slide Bike Tour takes you through La Jolla’s most spectacular scenery. And during the warmer months you can swim with the sharks on our guided Leopard Shark Snorkel Adventures. Experience the natural beauty and wonder of the Southern California’s coastline and come away with a new appreciation for ocean kayaking, marine life, and the natural beauty of our underwater world.La Jolla Kayak is located in the heart of the seaside community of La Jolla, California, just 15 minutes north of Downtown San Diego and the SD International Airport. For over a century, La Jolla has been a favorite vacation destination of travelers from all over the world. Boasting Southern California's most beautiful and majestic coastline and the finest weather in the world, La Jolla offers a variety of recreational opportunities.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We did the bike tour one day and kayaking another day . Both experiences were fantastic but I do not recommend either for children under 10 as the biking route is in busy streets and the kayaking can be strenuous with big waves . Staff from both were outstanding and had a lot of tidbits on the area.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Voyage764724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"leopard sharks"
in 39 reviews
"cave tour"
in 20 reviews
"sea caves"
in 19 reviews
"fun tour"
in 8 reviews
"hour tour"
in 8 reviews
"tour group"
in 5 reviews
"marine life"
in 12 reviews
"wet suits"
in 7 reviews
"small group"
in 4 reviews
"great guide"
in 5 reviews
"san diego"
in 4 reviews
in 29 reviews
in 28 reviews
in 150 reviews
in 34 reviews
in 23 reviews
in 47 reviews

62 - 66 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I read great reviews about this business. The owner was nice and the guides were friendly.

With that said, this was not an experience I ever care to repeat. The water was way too choppy and rough for us to have taken our two sons—6 and 11—out into it. The first trip was cancelled for conditions after we suited up and walked to beach. A teenager had just been taken away in an ambulance when a kayak hit her when she turned over on a tour before us. We were told to come back the next day because they expected the conditions to be much better. We called the next morning to check and they said they had no issues so far and the tour was a go.

When we got there, we suited up and headed to the beach again. We were told that if we flipped our kayak getting through the surf near the shore, to just stand up. It was only about 3 feet. My 11 year old and I paddled out, made it through the surf and into deep water. Our kayak shifted and a wave knocked us over. We were plunged into freezing water and despite our life jackets, we were panicked that we couldn’t touch the ocean floor. I pushed the kayak away and screamed to swim and breath. We were hit by several big waves as we tried to swim back in. It was miserable. The guide talked us back into going out and he said he would swim us out. I reluctantly agreed and regretted it. My son started to get nauseous. Even in deep water, it was a constant fight to keep the kayak straight. Other folks were also having trouble. My son and I yelled that we were going back. We paddled back alone. My husband and 6 year old kept going.

We waited for them at the shop and I cried I was so worried about my 6 year old. The owner was nice and tried to reassure. My husband showed up a 1/2 hour later with my wet, crying son. They had given up and paddled back because the water was so rough and they were no where near the caves. They flipped the kayak on the way back in.

It was an awful experience. The owner acknowledged it was a balance on when weather/water conditions are problematic. I said children had no business being out there.

Again, nice people but I wouldn’t waste money or our safety/sanity on an experience like this again. I don’t know enough independently about conditions to feel comfortable to judge if it’s safe. I trusted the company to do that and felt they would since they called off the previous day. I just think they made the wrong call that day.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank NicoleB295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollakayak, Owner at La Jolla Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Nicole,

We sincerely apologize for your experience with us. We take pride in operating a safe and organized business that provides the best experience for our customers, and are continually striving to keep systems in place to ensure this. We will escalate this internally to make sure this doesn't happen again. We would like to offer you a full refund and a voucher for any of our tours. Could you please send an email to sharon@lajollakayak.com with your information so that we can process your refund and provide your family with a voucher?

We sincerely apologize for your family's experience with us. We look forward to hearing from you.

- La Jolla Kayak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jolla Kayak also viewed


Been to La Jolla Kayak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing