We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of Charm and Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages
Ranked #3 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loads of Charm and Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent two nights in a large 2 bedroom cottage, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottages are located very near the beach, and near the center of La Jolla, but not so close to either that there was any noise at night. Very happy with our stay, and would certainly recommend it to anyone, especially for a longer stay.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendell476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Streatley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My colleagues and I stayed at Redwood cottages in September 2011 while attending a conference in San Diego. The cottage was perfect for the three of us, including a pull-out bed in our one bedroom cottage. Our days were spent enjoying the beach and village. We especiallly enjoyed sitting outside drinking wine by the fireplace on the cool evenings. The cottage is a short walk to the beach and the village shops and restaurants. We didn't move our car until our last day when we hiked at the Torrey Pines state natural reserve--highly recommend this hike as the views are spectactular. The grocery store was a trek so recommend picking up food before you check in or driving to the grocery store. The plants and flowers surrounding the cottages were beautiful. We kept our windows open at night and could hear the crashing waves of the Pacific and smelled the fragant flowers outside our windows. We will be back on our next trip to southern California.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Streatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Cute cottages, many hidden from the street, with the charm of beach cottage life of years ago. We stayed in a large 2 bedroom and it was more than enough space for 3 friends traveling together. It was so, so clean welcoming. The manager showed us several of the studio/one bedrooms that were unoccupied and they were as charming as the one where we stayed.

It was walking distance (less than a mile) from restaurants and shops, very close to the beach and beach walk to the cove, and easy access to I-5.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido,CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Quaint, charming, restful, relaxing, quiet, historic, rustic, garden of Eden like place, hidden within the LaJolla community, near the Cove. Walking distance to everything. You can hear the sound of the ocean at night. We plan to go back as soon as we can get away! LOVE IT!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisak56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We spent 4 days in La Jolla in early June, just loved the southern california ambience of La Jolla Village, and the fantastic setting at this unique gardened accomodation. We rented the Whispering Sands cottage and loved the quiet, serene setting, it is located one block back from lovely white sand beach (Whispering Sands beach) and a couple blocks away from the village shopping areas. Overall, fantastic stay and location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giseke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.0 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.1 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.9 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
2.7 km away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages

Property: Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages
Address: 256 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4672
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,236 - ₹ 21,224
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Hollow Cottages is a historic garden oasis 400 feet from a sandy beach in La Jolla Village. We have studios, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom separate cottages. Most have full kitchens, and some have wood burning fireplaces. All cottages have individual Internet connections and their own Wi-Fi reception. We are in a quiet residential location set on 1/2 acre of gardens. The Village with shops and restaurants is four blocks away.  We welcome you to our charming hotel alternative in America's Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hollow - La Jolla Cottages Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing