We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing and casual”
Review of Cafe la Rue

Cafe la Rue
Ranked #80 of 1,245 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 24
Cuisines: European, French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Café la Rue translates to "the street," and in La Jolla all streets lead to La Valencia Hotel and her chic, casual bistro designed as a European brasserie perfect for people watching. The eatery's natural light and airy art deco-inspired ambiance is accented with original mural paintings that mirror the café's own sidewalk seating along Prospect Street. As La Jolla's best interactive venue, a chef driven rotating seasonal menu ranges from shared plates to elegant entrees built with sustainable ingredients from local providers. Evening specials are served al fresco under the twinkling lights of the village-front courtyard, where delectable flavors mingle with irresistible live music and balmy ocean breezes.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This casual dining with a bar/lounge ambiance is inside the Hotel La Valencia. If there is music it will be loud. Service while professional and courteous is slow. Portions are small but adequate. The Paella was intriguing in both taste and portion. In contrast to many paella offerings that are filled with shellfish and maybe sausage they offer one clam, one mussel, one langostino and one very nice and well prepared octopus tentacle. The rice is dotted with vegetables and crustacean roe. Quite yummy. The eggplant wrap sets a standard for thoughtful choice of ingredients by the incorporation of muhammara, a paste of ground peppers and walnuts.

Thank m44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at Cafe la Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We so appreciate your genuine feedback. I am so sorry to see that we only received a three-star rating from you. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.
Kind Regards,
Melissa King, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Just had dinner for birthday and was utterly disappointed. Food is mediocre: vegetable dip was a block of cream cheese with lettuce as garnish, ordered strozapreti pasta with wild mushroom, hazelnut, arugula and lemon zest with brown butter sauce and got pasta with what looked like canned button mushroom slices and a few slices of almonds in wine sauce. I asked the waiter if it is the right dish and he said yes the mushroom are white not wild, the menu said hazelnut but it is wrong and the chef does not like arugula so he did not put any. Seriously?

Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at Cafe la Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Catherine,
I am so sorry to hear that your recent dining experience at Cafe la Rue wasn't to your (or our) expectations. We very rarely deviate from our recipes, so please know that your comments have been taken to our culinary team for further review and action. I hope you will offer us another opportunity to exceed all expectations in the future.
Kind Regards,
Melissa King, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Went for happy hour. DELICIOUS wine and food! The caesar salad was AMAZING! It is a quaint spot and the service was very good. Low key and excellent price point! Go!

Thank JED2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Melissa King at Cafe la Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Valued Diner,
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! Our team is thrilled to hear that you loved your meal at Cafe la Rue! The Caesar salad is one of my personal favorites as well.
We hope we can welcome you back for one of our amazing nightly specials paired with live music!
Kind Regards,
Melissa King, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a very unfriendly non cozy setting. The lighting is poor and the "U" shaped bar lets you see all the bartender's messes from both sides. There are SO many better places to go now. It is sad. Its predecessor, the Whaling Bar, was by far the best bar in La Jolla in its day.

Thank LJBeachCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at Cafe la Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear La Jolla Guest,
We're disappointed that you didn't find Cafe la Rue the charming, light and airy setting that we've created it to be. With lots of natural light from the large windows and sunny outdoor sidewalk seating, Cafe la Rue offers guests a casual European bistro experience. The Whaling Bar was a gem in its time, but when we closed the room almost 6 years ago because it was because there was no business and it was in terrible condition. You'll be happy to hear that we've just completed reinstalling the famous Whaling Mural into our new Ballenero Boardroom.

The era of a dark enclosed room had long passed and the La Jolla of today is all about bright open rooms and lively sidewalk seating - that is Café la Rue and why it has become very popular. We hope you will allow us to regain your loyalty and show you all of the great changes we have made, and are continuing to make here at La Valencia - all while keeping the charm of our 90+-year-old property.

Kind Regards,
Melissa King, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I've eaten at the various restaurants at La Valencia over the years but hadn't been there in a while and this time had kids with me (well-behaved but still). I wasn't sure if it would be a good fit for them. I loved it as much as always. Sat at the front and people-watched, had great food. We all enjoyed it. Whole hotel is one of my favorite places in CA!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jomalleyghori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing at Cafe la Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your loyalty to La Valencia, and this delightful review! Cafe la Rue and La Valencia Hotel happily entertains guests of all ages, and we're thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed a great meal with a side of people-watching from our beautiful street-side patio.
We can't wait to welcome you back to La V and our fabulous restaurants soon!
Cheers,
Melissa King, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe la Rue also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cafe la Rue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing