We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and (mostly) delicious food”

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Lodge’s signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, highlights regional San Diego cuisine served in an elegant, timbered indoor-outdoor dining room overlooking the 18th hole of Torrey Pines Golf Course. Executive Chef Jeff Jackson sources only the best local provisions, and the menu changes frequently based on seasonal fare available. The restaurant takes its name from a talented early 20th-century California artist whose works are exhibited throughout the restaurant.
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Elegant dining room and (mostly) lovely food. Since to filet mignon was on the menu, my husband and I decided to try the NY strip steak - not a cut we are familiar with but reasoning that this is the kind of restaurant to risk something new ( like the lobster with beans which was fabulous!) sadly the steak did not delight but the attentive waiter notified the manager who apologised, offered dessert & made all feel happy. All the other meals were splendid so I definitely recomend this lovely restaurant. Excellent gluten free muffins too!

Thank travelclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the service and the elegance of the dining room. We are glad to hear that our staff were attentive and were able to come up with a solution when your meal did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your patronage, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 135 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2016

As my wife was attending a business dinner for the first time in my 52 years I dined solo at a fine dining establishment and I was treated to the same high level of service as larger parties compliments by the exceptional food and wine.

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your kind review. At A.R. Valentien, we take pride in accommodating all of our guests with the highest quality of service. We are so pleased you enjoyed our farm-to-table cuisine and wine selection. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

What an incredible spot. The views across the golf course to the blue Pacific are stunning. The hotel is pure Craftsman architecture through and through which is a joy to behold. The service is tops...classy from start to finish without a hitch. The food was very good but not great. Mostly it was just a little bland. The Hanger Steak was just so-so. Nothing special. The pasta sauce was really lacking in flavor. The frisee` salad was very tasty but the lobster frita salad left a little to be desired. The prices are steep, but not so bad when you consider the view and the service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the views of the golf course and the Pacific Ocean, as well as the Craftsman architecture that gives The Lodge at Torrey Pines its charm. While it is wonderful to hear that our service exceeded your expectations, we are troubled to learn that the food did not. Providing top quality cuisine is our priority, and will be sure to share your feedback with our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

For the first time ever, we didn't cook for Thanksgiving, but instead searched out the "best" in restaurants serving a traditional dinner in San Diego. We went for #1 and although pricey, it did not disappoint. The atmosphere at A.R. Valentien is cozy and the service attentive as one would expect. The menu offered four courses with a wide range of choices plus the traditional "turkey and fixins"--all meals started with Tahitian squash soup that was smoky and spicy--a great start. There was an autumn salad with persimmons & apples, pate plate and a smoked trout salad followed by the main course as described above. Desserts were tasty also--a pumpkin cheesecake, black bottom butterscotch pudding and a holiday Creme brûlée--all a great way to top off our unique Thanksgiving meal.

Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service at A.R. Valentien. Every year we strive to create a menu that fully embodies the farm-to-table dining experience, while keeping the traditional dishes that make the Thanksgiving holiday special. We are so glad you enjoyed every part of it, and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The service is excellent. The staff is helpful and pleasant and friendly.The menu is excellent. "nuff said!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1HiFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us. A.R. Valentien thrives on providing quality service to our guests as well as creating a menu with exquisite dishes. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing