We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located,relaxing,friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. The valet staff were first class all the way, doing everthing possible to help us plan our day. I would hope that in the future they would keep kids out of the hot tub, and I thought it was kind of cheap that the resort fee $17.00 a day, got you free coffee in the morning but you had to pay $3.50 for a cup of tea, really how much can a tea bag cost. those were my only neg. issues. Yes I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 939 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Classic old California structures coupled with today’s cuisine and world class service – that’s the Estancia package. This was the first time we had stayed and it was because service in the hotel we had regularly used had deteriorated so badly. Now, Estancia will be the hotel of choice in the area. From the valet greeting at driving up, to the friendliness of the front desk to the in-room amenities; all were world class. Three of us ate in the Bodega Wine Bar, which is somewhat quieter than the Mustangs and Burros (which has a pleasant outdoor patio), although the same food can be served. The smaller plates were both delicious and adequate for all other than the most aggressive appetites. In particular, the Ahi tower was the freshest and enjoyed by all. Interestingly, the barkeep introduced us to a San Diego made gin and then had to retrieve a second bottle. The Malbec was well priced and perfectly temperature. It can be a long walk from the reception and bar areas to the rooms. Reception is on the highest room level and other floors are lower than the entry level. The Adobe Restaurant is not open for dinner. Well located, attractively priced and with great service Estancia La Jolla offers a winning combination.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22club58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Staying at the Estanica was a pleasant experience, but I wouldn't say it was excellent. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful, and the pool area is nice and relaxing. Both the gym and spa areas were also very good. Most of the staff was kind and courteous, although it seemed like the front desk was a little disorganized at times. My only real disappointment was the decor of the room, which I thought could use a little updating. The room was clean and comfortable, but when the A/C unit wasn't on you could easily hear the people in the adjacent rooms, on the sides and above. The hotel is a little isolated, but it's not a far drive from downtown La Jolla. It was a Living Social deal that prompted me to stay, so I felt like it was a good deal, but I don't know that I'd go back and pay full price. Overall, it was enjoyable and good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here to attend my son's graduation at UCSD. Great location for walking to the campus and other attractions in the area. Very friendly staff. Really enjoyed the restaurants. Food reasonably priced (for California), good variety on the menus and flavorful. Enjoyed the landscaped gardens. Enjoyed the pool, especially the attentive waiters. Only disappointment was the resort fee, which was not discussed while making the reservation. I feel it should be optional since I did not use the toiletries or drink the coffee/tea.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The grounds are beautiful, hotel quaint but that's about all the real positives. Do NOT believe anything about the "adult only" jacuzzi. They even have a sign that says no kids under 14 years old. 14? Really? It should be 18 at the least. The spa is small and sparsley staffed. Tried to book services and was told they could only do a wait list. Pityful. The workout facilities are not much more than minimal either. The front desk had difficulty making change for a $20 on two separate occassions. The first time they had to go out to the bell stand to get change from the bellman. The other time it took then 10 minutes in the "backroom" to find some change. The buildings utilize your room key to enter the building. Nice idea but most of the time during the day the staff blocked them open. So much for security. We had to leave our building and go into an adjacent one in orer to obtain ice for our room. The rooms were dark and had a balcony that consisted of one small table and one chair. There was no room for anything else on the balcony. One person could sit and the other had to stand. The bellman and valet were the stars of the hotel. They worked hard and were pleasant. Housekeeping had its challenges. One day the room was made up after 1PM, next day by 10AM and another day they tried to walk in while we were still in bed at 8AM! The day we were checking out we packed most of our things and left the luggage on the bed to finish after we had breakfast. When we got back to the room it had been cleaned and our luggage zipped, locked and placed in a corner. Totally ridiculous. There are no real restaurants around the hotel for dining options without driving. All in all the final question is - "would we return to Estancia?" In truth, not a chance.

Room Tip: Maybe you will might have a larger patio area on the ground floor but anything lobby level or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
4.8 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
2.4 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.0 km away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
5.1 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: ₹ 16,933 - ₹ 30,544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing