We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great property”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

What a great property to stay at. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The grounds have that cool california-spanish vibe going on. It's not close to the beach or downtown La Jolla but if you are looking for a nice quiet getaway you will be very happy with your stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    374
    145
    69
    35
See reviews for
306
478
54
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marin county
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We loved staying here! They obviously spend a lot of time an energy on their grounds, the plantings are wonderful and it's a lot of fun to walk around and discover the rambling hotel grounds. The pool is lovely, especially the shaded cabanas. We stayed in a room at ground level, with our own entrance, on the courtyard, and it felt very private and not like we were at a big hotel. beds and linens are comfy and they had robes in the room. I recommend the upgrade. Got a great rate through bookit.com. Felt nickel-and-dimed by the $25 parking and then $12 resort fee. Food in the El Adobe restaurant for breakfast was a bit heavy and oily.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the courtyard with a veranda/patio. Also consider staying at ground level to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DecafCapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Perfect for a couple's or girls' getaway, The Estancia is a little gem off the beaten path. Our Costco rate was a great deal and included valet parking and a daily credit of $50 for breakfast. While Mustangs and Burros was fabulous for appetizers and dinner, breakfast at El Adobe restaurant was just okay. Our room looked out onto the parking lot, yet it was very quiet. Don't hesitate to stay here if you're looking for a lovely getaway.

Room Tip: Room 395 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capartyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I come for a quick getaway in La Jolla. We chose Estancia since we had heard so much about it and thought we'd try to stay here. Right away, we were greeted with a beautiful driveway that led up to the lobby. Hotel grounds were impeccably manicured. We were really impressed with the landscaping! The hotel property was clean and well taken care of throughout. We had a great time walking around garden after garden. Beautiful pots of plants everywhere. The attention to detail was evident in every way. Staff was friendly and greeted us whenever we saw them. Since we stayed only one night, we were busy spending time in La Jolla village and didn't get to try the restaurants on property. But the Mustangs and Burros looked very inviting, especially if you were sitting outside at night by the big fireplace. Very cozy!

Our room was nice, clean and quiet, but tucked away in the corner of the smaller courtyard with fronds of 3 palm trees as a view. My husband had asked for a room with balcony upon check-in but was politely declined and told that we were given the best available room. Later in the evening we walked around and saw plenty of balcony rooms with dark windows, and that could only made us think because we booked through third party that we weren't happily upgraded, even though the hotel weren't full.

This hotel is a good value in La Jolla. Great for a quiet romantic getaway and relaxation as the property is situated next to UCSD and around residential area. Downtown La Jolla is about 4 miles away. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony in the big courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacay2vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I am attending a course at UCSD and decided to stay here instead of the Courtyard as recommended by the course organizers. For starters I am paying $180 a night; maybe that is a discount rate so that's why they put me in a terrible room. I got room 301 which you should try and avoid at all costs. It is directly across the breezeway from the lobby and just beyond a door tantrum every guest keys into to enter the guest room section of the hotel. You can hear every one come and go all the time. There was some social function in the restaurant odd the breezeway and I could hear conversation and laughter til the wee hours of the morning. I guess they have to put someone in this room but the safe repairman said that there were plenty of empty rooms when I mentioned to him but since I had only one more night I opted not to move. Oh yeah, the in room safe was broken and it had to be replaced. Then the maid left her dirty cleaning rag on top of my toiletries kit and forgot to leave me some soap.
The bed is pretty comfortable and everything looks clean but odd layout so that you have to either open the bathroom or closet but not both at once. Maybe this is not a problem in other rooms. I also noticed that most other rooms have a balcony to enjoy the fresh air and view from but not mine. The only other negative is that there is not a lot nearby if you come without a car.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegoldenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Property: Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,922 - ₹ 29,581
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing