We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No A/C? No breakfast? No hair dryer? Seriously?”
Review of Sands Of La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Of La Jolla
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No A/C? No breakfast? No hair dryer? Seriously?”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I hated this hotel. I was afraid to sleep in the bed, it didn't look clean. The room was definitely not clean, I'm not sure it was even vacuumed. I didn't want to use the shower. There was no air conditioning, no continental breakfast, no hair dryer. The sink was next to the outside door and there wasn't even a hook to hang your towel on after washing your hands. The desk clerk didn't seem to know anything or care, either. Maybe I got one of the worst rooms but I think if I had thought it was clean, I wouldn't have cared so much about everything else. But the soles of my feet were black after walking on the carpet for a few minutes. That was really disturbing . There was no kitchenette in my room or a sofa. If you're going to rent one of the least favorable rooms in the motel, you shouldn't be charging a hundred dollars. I would never recommend this motel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    25
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Good location, comfortable bed, microwave and fridge in room, pool was also nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moncure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

A group of 5 people checked into this hotel and one of them after just laying on the bed for a little nap felt something uncomfortable and itchy. He looked in the mirror and had red swollen bumps on his back. They told management and checked out of the hote. The staff at the hotel went to the room and inspected it, stated that they did not see any bed bugs and offered my client another room. Obviously, my client was not interested in staying there, especially after no further action was taken by the hotel to ensure that the room was properly inspected by a professional, thoroughly cleaned.They also wanted to charge them for the rooms even though they didn't end up staying there due to this situation. It was very frustating and customers service as well as attention to health hazards is at the top of my list when I book hotels. This hotel did not live up to those standards. That is putting my feelings about this experience lightly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hotelbookingagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Rooms are clean and updated. The location is just 1 block for the ocean (but a few more blocks if you want to go to the beach) in beautiful, residential BirdRock. The road can get a bit noisy but with the door closed to the balcony its perfectly quiet for sleeping.
I think this place is a great value for its location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeisuristNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Every time we go to California, we always stay at the Sands of La Jolla. Now, I know that the major gripe for this place is the lack of A/C, which yeah, can be a pain in the butt. Honestly though, if you plan on staying in the hotel the ENTIRE time when it's a blistering 110 degrees outside, try somewhere else.

We love this place mainly for it's location, and the price. You really can't beat less than $100/night here for this area. We stayed in the largest suite they had there complete with a kitchen and a living room and it was perfect for us. The couch pulls out into a bed. There were 4 adults, 1 kid and 1 infant total in our group, and yes they also have cribs available.

The staff is super friendly and very accomodating for our needs. Please, if you do stay in this area, definitely check out the Sands of La Jolla.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asuchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
4.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
7.3 km away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,296 reviews
3.9 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#14 of 24 in La Jolla
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
4.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
7.6 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of La Jolla

Property: Sands Of La Jolla
Address: 5417 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-7696
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,364 - ₹ 14,083
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Of La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sands Of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Sands La Jolla
Sands Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing