We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pay for the sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pay for the sea view”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Not much to add to all the other great reviews of this really nice hotel, right on the beach (people- and bird-watching at breakfast is fun!) except that the room was surprisingly motel-like. But I'm not complaining. Do choose a room with at least a partial, if not full, sea view, as some rooms face onto the street (again, rather too much like a motel) and others open right onto the (busy) pool area. Would love to come back.

Room Tip: pay the difference and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    293
    113
    59
    44
See reviews for
437
234
36
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were staying at the sister hotel (La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, which is adjacent) and came our 1st night to the Shores for dinner at the recommendation of friends. The food was well prepared and the restaurant staff was very attentive.

The hotel itself has a very pleasant, but not assuming, decor. One can tell that management and ownership pays attention to guests' needs. Highly recommend!

Guests from Phoenix

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityEducators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, SK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Spectacular views, clean comfortable rooms and perfect location for sight seeing in San Diego. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: Great an Ocean View or Coastal view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We found this hotel a great value and highly recommend it, especially to families with children.The location is fantastic- right on the beach and next to an ocean-front playground.A convenience store and 6 not-so-overpriced restaurants are 1 block away ( we loved pasta at Piatti and Gyro sandwich at Jeff's Burger). Sea World and the Zoo are about 15-20 min drive away.The area around is residential and quiet. the beach is beautiful. Our children loved the swimming pool, and we loved the hot tub. We stayed the last week of March and didn't find the hotel too noisy ( it might be different during school holidays). Our room 325 could use a face-lift ( e.g. new carpet and kitchenette cabinets), but it was large, clean and comfortable with a breakfast bar ( a nice touch).The bathroom appeared to be somewhat newer than the kitchenette and was very clean. the reason I don't give cleanliness 5 stars is the kitchen floor felt a little old and sticky, but it didn't bother me too much as the rest of the room was very clean. Prior to booking I was concerned about bed bugs mentioned in an earlier review and contacted the manager, who assured me that extraordinary measures had been taken to get rid of the problem. We didn't experience any issues during our stay; the measures surely worked. I originally booked a room with 2 queens overlooking the pool or garden, but it turned out those don't have a kitchenette. After I e-mailed the hotel, Rooms Division Manager Melony was able to upgrade us to a king bed room with a roll-away bed, kitchenette and balcony overlooking the beach and park at no additional charge! Thank you, Melony, for your great service! Our room was also on the top floor; we enjoyed high ceilings with exposed beams, which made the room look extra spacious. The decor was very nice, and the furniture seemed new. Parking is $16 per night. The restaurant serves good breakfast with great (strong!) coffee, great ocean views and reasonable prices ( breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children $30). We also tried happy hour and loved the cocktails and appetizers. Did I mention the pool area is very nice with a shallower end for kids? Also, some rooms with 2 queens overlook the pool, and if you are on the ground floor, you can walk to the pool directly from your room. Overall, this hotel could easily be a 4 star resort with some room upgrades, but even the way it is, it is very comfortable and a great value.

Room Tip: North side rooms facing out have great views of the beach and park. Top floor rooms have higher ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was concerned by an earlier post. I called the manager and we discussed the situation and I felt comfortable moving ahead with my reservation. We had 2 rooms and had no problems. The Staff were very helpful at every request and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank work2surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.8 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.6 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.8 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.0 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,441 - ₹ 37,594
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TIG Global, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing